danny care harlequins

Redemption: Danny Care has been picked in the England squad for the first time this year

STUART LANCASTER has included 13 uncapped players in his 42-man England squad to tour South Africa in June.

Harlequins back-rower Chris Robshaw will again captain England on the five-match tour, which includes three Tests against the Springboks.

The 13 uncapped players in the squad include Wasps lock Joe Launchbury and wing Christian Wade, London Irish centre Jonathan Joseph and Leicester hooker Tom Youngs, the brother of scrum-half Ben and a former centre.

Lancaster has lost the likes of Courtney Lawes, Tom Croft, Charlie Sharples and Tom Wood to injury, but he has recalled James Haskell, who is currently playing Super Rugby for the Highlanders, and Harlequins scrum-half Danny Care, who was suspended from the Six Nations squad for disciplinary reasons.

“There is a real excitement about this squad,” said Lancaster, who will call up additional players for the Barbarians game on Sunday 27 May. “We have a massive challenge ahead of us but it is one that everybody involved is looking forward to.”


tom youngs leicester

Move: Centre-turned-hooker Tom Youngs

England squad for South Africa tour:

Forwards: Mouritz  Botha  (Saracens), Dan Cole (Leicester), 
Alex Corbisiero (London Irish), 
Paul Doran-Jones,
 Phil Dowson (both Northampton),
 Carl Fearns (Bath),
 Joe Gray (Harlequins),
 Dylan Hartley (Northampton),
 James Haskell (Highlanders),
 Tom Johnson (Exeter), Graham  Kitchener (Leicester), 
Joe Launchbury (Wasps),
 Joe Marler (Harlequins), 
Lee Mears (Bath),
 Ben Morgan (Scarlets),
 Matt Mullan (Worcester),
 Tom Palmer (Stade Francais),
 Geoff Parling (Leicester),
 Chris Robshaw (capt), George Robson (both Harlequins),
 Matt Stevens  (Saracens),
 Thomas Waldrom, Tom Youngs (both Leicester).

Backs: Anthony Allen (Leicester), 
Chris Ashton (Northampton),
 Brad Barritt (Saracens), Mike Brown, 
Danny Care (both Harlequins), Lee Dickson (Northampton), 
Owen Farrell (Saracens),
 Toby Flood (Leicester), Ben Foden (Northampton),
 Alex Goode (Saracens), Charlie Hodgson (Saracens), Jonathan Joseph (London Irish),
 George Lowe,
 Ugo Monye (both Harlequins),
 David Strettle (Saracens), 
Manu Tuilagi (Leicester), 
Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins)
, Christian Wade (Wasps), 
Ben Youngs (Leicester).

South Africa tour fixtures:

Sat 9 June South Africa v England (Durban)

Weds 13 June SA Barbarains South v England (Kimberley)

Sat 16 June South Africa v England (Johannesburg)

Tues 19 June SA Barbarians North (Potchefstroom)

Sat 23 June South Africa v England (Port Elizabeth)