The profile of the RBS 6 Nations outside Europe received a boost today with the news that the tournament is being broadcast to a huge audience in the USA. BBC AMERICA have confirmed a deal to show five live games from this year’s RBS 6 Nations. The channel which reaches 68m homes, has confirmed it will broadcast the games after a terrific response from US-based fans who followed last year’s debut coverage on the channel.

-       BBC AMERICA is elevating its coverage this year with digital partnerships and is broadcasting five live matches wrapped with new pre- and post-game shows, beginning with 2010 champions France versus Scotland on Saturday, February 5, 11:30 a.m. ET / 8:30 a.m. PT.

The channel has also has launched an innovative digital campaign with location-based mobile platform Foursquare.

The ‘Check in for Kick off’ campaign will promote BBC AMERICA’s coverage of the Six Nations via the hugely popular Foursquare network – which has more than 6m users. Foursquare users can follow BBC AMERICA at Foursquare.com/BBCAMERICA to discover tips at over 100 rugby spots all over the U.S. and at key locations in the six host countries of England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales. Users can unlock the “BBC AMERICA Rugby” badge by checking into rugby institutions, share their own tips with #Watch6Nations and post their party photos.

Perry Simon, General Manager, Channels, BBC Worldwide America commented: “Teaming up with Foursquare is the perfect way to connect BBC AMERICA’s 6 Nations coverage with the U.S. rugby community, and to help new viewers suffering from NFL withdrawal learn how to appreciate this great sport.”

The partnership with Foursquare is part of BBC AMERICA’s expanded coverage of the Six Nations, which includes the new pre- and post-game shows and digital content produced by Embassy Row. Foursquare activity is being supported by on-air promotion, a Public Viewing Locales feature on BBCAmerica.com and a national sports bar marketing/promotion campaign in partnership with Bottle Rocket Marketing Group. Sports bars in BBC AMERICA’s top markets are being blanketed with promotional messaging to watch the broadcasts and engage with BBC AMERICA on Foursquare.

The schedule is:

France v  Scotland (in Paris)
Saturday, February 5, 11:30 a.m. ET / 8:30 a.m. PT

Scotland v Wales (in Edinburgh)
Saturday, February 12, 11:30 a.m. ET / 8:30 a.m. PT

England v  France (in London)
Saturday, February 26, 11:30 a.m. ET / 8:30 a.m. PT

England v Scotland (in London)
Sunday, March 13, 10:30 a.m. ET / 7:30 a.m. PT

Ireland v England (in Dublin)
Saturday, March 19, 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT

  • Phil Jones

    What about expats in Canada who want to see Six Nations