Sevens World Cup 2022

The Sevens World Cup 2022 will be held from Friday 9 September to Sunday 11 September in Cape Town, South Africa.

The men’s and women’s tournaments will run concurrently, with New Zealand winners of the last two tournaments in both.

The All Blacks Sevens team seem the safest bet to lift the men’s trophy considering their recent pedigree in the competition

However, the volatile nature of sevens means several teams have genuine title aspirations, including England, South Africa and Olympic champions Fiji.

The 2022 iteration will be the seventh edition of the men’s Sevens World Cup. New Zealand have a record three titles, followed by Fiji with two, while England and Wales both have one each.

New Zealand will also be highly-fancied in the women’s tournament. As well as winning the last two World Cups, the Black Ferns have won six of the eight women’s World Sevens Series contested and claimed Olympic gold in 2021. Host South Africa, Australia and France are some of the other contenders.

The women’s event was only introduced in 2009, 16 years after the first men’s tournament. Australia won the inaugural competition in Dubai but New Zealand won the other two instalments in 2013 and 2018.

There will be 24 nations in the men’s World Cup and 16 in the women’s, with qualification still in progress for both tournaments.

Stay tuned over the coming weeks for all the information you need about the Sevens World Cup.

Download the digital edition of Rugby World straight to your tablet or subscribe to the print edition to get the magazine delivered to your door.

Follow Rugby World on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Fiji men win Sevens world Cup

Fiji men win Sevens world Cup An irresistible force. A power surge. The art of timing. In the final of the men’s Sevens World Cup, Fiji cranked it up, scoring…

Australia women win Sevens World Cup

Australia women win Sevens World Cup It was Maddison Levi’s final. The former AFLW star scored a scorching hat-trick as Australia women vanquished their old foes the Black Ferns in…

The last dance before GB Sevens

With England, Scotland and Wales set to stop playing on the World Rugby Sevens Series, we found out how the players felt ahead of the dawn of GB Sevens

watch the Sevens World Cup

Wherever you are in the world, if you love your sevens, we've got you covered – here's how to watch the Sevens World Cup in Cape Town

Sevens World Cup tickets

Sevens World Cup tickets: How to buy The 2022 Sevens World Cup will be held at Cape Town Stadium from 9 September to 11 September. The men’s and women’s tournaments…


One of the powers on the sevens circuit and soon-to-be Sevens World Cup hosts, we dig deep into the South African side’s DNA

Sevens World Cup schedule

The Sevens World Cup schedule have been unveiled ahead of the big kick-off in Cape Town on 9-11 September. With World Rugby’s ‘winner takes all’ knock-out format it means tournament…