Hot-head Delon Armitage

England manager Martin Johnson has made just two changes, both forced, to the England team which won 20-9 in Ireland just under two weeks ago. Delon Armitage comes in on the left wing for the injured Mark Cueto and Nick Easter returns at number 8. James Haskell, who played at number 8 against Ireland, reverts to openside flanker in place of Hendre Fourie, who is not in England’s Rugby World Cup 2011 squad.

The only survivors from the England starting XV who lost 15-6 to South Africa in the final of RWC 2007 are loosehead prop Andrew Sheridan, number 8 Nick Easter and fly half Jonny Wilkinson. Prop Matt Stevens and fly half Toby Flood start on the bench as they did in the 2007 final.

There are also three starters on Saturday who began the victorious RWC 2003 final for England. Hooker Steve Thompson, captain Mike Tindall and Jonny Wilkinson were all part of the XV who began the 20-17 extra-time win against Australia in Sydney. Thompson and Tindall both missed Rugby World Cup 2007 through injury and are two of the nine players present at RWC 2011 who played eight years ago but missed the 2007 tournament.

Jonny Wilkinson will become the third England player to play at four Rugby World Cups when he takes to the field on Saturday. Jason Leonard (1991-2003) and Mike Catt (1995-2007) have previously achieved this feat.

1. Andrew Sheridan
2. Steve Thompson
3. Dan Cole
4. Louis Deacon
5. Courtney Lawes
6. Tom Croft
7. James Haskell
8. Nick Easter
9. Richard Wigglesworth
10. Jonny Wilkinson
11. Delon Armitage
12. Mike Tindall (c)
13. Manu Tuilagi
14. Chris Ashton
15. Ben Foden


16. Dylan Hartley
17. Matt Stevens
18. Tom Palmer
19. Tom Wood
20. Ben Youngs
21. Toby Flood
22. Matt Banahan

Argentina coach Santiago Phelan has made just one change to his starting XV from the team which took the field in the 28-13 defeat by Wales last month.

Phelan has brought Gonzalo Tiesi in at outside centre to replace Marcelo Bosch who drops to the bench for the Pool B match against England in Dunedin on Saturday.

Veteran hooker Mario Ledesma will become the oldest Argentine and the third oldest player from any team to play a Rugby World Cup match.

Mario Ledesma will be 38 years and 116 days old on match day and only Mark Cardinal (CAN) and Diego Ormaechea (URU) have played in the World Cup at a more advanced age.

Another Argentine record will be equalled in this match with captain Felipe Contepomi and Ledesma playing at their fourth Rugby World Cup.

Pedro Sporleder and Agustín Pichot are the only Argentine players to have achieved this in the past. A third member of the current squad, Martín Scelzo, can also equal this record as he has been named on Argentina’s bench for Saturday’s match.

1. Rodrigo Roncero
2. Mario Ledesma Arocena
3. Juan Figallo
4. Manuel Carizza
5. Patricio Albacete
6. Julio Farias Cabello
7. Juan Manuel Leguizamón
8. Juan Martín Fernandez Lobbe
9. Nicolás Vergallo
10. Felipe Contepomi (c)
11. Horacio Agulla
12. Santiago Fernández
13. Gonzalo Tiesi
14. Gonzalo Camacho
15. Martín Rodríguez


16. Agustín Creevy
17. Martín Scelzo
18. Mariano Galarza
19. Alejandro Campos
20. Alfredo Lalanne
21. Marcelo Bosch
22. Juan Jose Imhoff