Eddie Jones releases eight players back to their clubs ahead of England's clash with Scotland, as three uncapped players remain in the final 25

England coach Eddie Jones could give debuts to three players in Saturday’s Calcutta Cup clash with Scotland and Murrayfield as Ollie Devoto (Bath), Jack Clifford (Harlequins) and Paul Hill (Northampton) made the 25-man squad.

Eight players were released by England to play for their clubs this weekend, including props Kieran Brookes (Northampton) and Matt Mullan (Wasps) and Gloucester’s Matt Kvesic returns to possibly face Bath on Friday night.

There he may face winger Semesa Rokoduguni, while Exeter duo Luke Cowan-Dickie and Sam Hill, Harlequins’ Marland Yarde and Sale’s Josh Beaumont are also released.

Maro Itoje, who drew widespread praise for his performance in Saracens’ win over Bath on Saturday, will travel with the squad as a reserve, as will Wasps back Elliot Daly.

Itoje could make an appearance on the pitch at the weekend if Courtney Lawes is not passed fit. England defence coach Steve Borthwick told BBC Sport that the Saints second-row did not train on Tuesday but is expected to be fit for Saturday.

England squad to face Scotland

Backs: Mike Brown (Harlequins), Danny Care (Harlequins), Ollie Devoto (Bath Rugby), Owen Farrell (Saracens), George Ford (Bath Rugby), Alex Goode (Saracens), Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers).

Forwards: Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Jack Clifford (Harlequins), Jamie George (Saracens), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), James Haskell (Wasps), Paul Hill (Northampton Saints), George Kruis (Saracens), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Joe Marler (Harlequins), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Mako Vunipola (Saracens).

Reserves: Maro Itoje (Saracens) and Elliot Daly (Wasps)