Manu Tuilagi

All smiles: Manu Tuilagi will become the first member of his family to play a Test for England rather than Samoa

  • Venue: Twickenham, date: Saturday, 6 August, Kick-off: 1430 BST
  • Coverage:Live commentary on BBC Sport website, BBC Radio Wales, BBC Radio Cymru and BBC 5 live sports extra; Watch live on Sky Sports 1; Highlights on BBC Sport website, BBC Three (Saturday 1900-2000 BST) and on BBC One (Sunday 0800-0900 BST); Live text commentary on BBC Sport website

MANU TUILAGI will make his England debut against Wales at Twickenham on Saturday.

Martin Johnson has given the Leicester Tigers centre the chance to prove he deserves a place in England’s 30-man World Cup squad by starting him at outside-centre alongside Riki Flutey in midfield.

“I’m really proud to be winning my first cap,” said Tuilagi, the 20-year-old Aviva Premiership Young Player of the Year, who impressed for England Saxons last season. “There is a lot of competition for places and I just want to take this chance and do the best I can for the team. The boys have worked hard during the camp but now we have to perform against Wales. ”

Fly-half Jonny Wilkinson will win his 86th cap and Delon Armitage also gets a start at full-back. Lewis Moody captains the side in a pack that also sees Matt Stevens start an International for the first time since November 2008, while there are bench call-ups for the uncapped Saracens lock Mouritz Botha and Gloucester wing Charlie Sharples.

England team to play Wales, Saturday 6 August, Twickenham, 2.30pm

Matt Stevens

Back on track: Matt Stevens will play in his first Test since 2008 following a drugs ban

15 Delon Armitage (London Irish)

14 Matt Banahan (Bath Rugby)

13 Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)

12 Riki Flutey (London Wasps)

11 Mark Cueto (Sale Sharks)

10 Jonny Wilkinson (Toulon)

9 Danny Care (Harlequins)

1 Alex Corbisiero (London Irish)

2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)

3 Matt Stevens (Saracens)

4 Simon Shaw (Unattached)

5 Tom Palmer (Stade Francais)

6 Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers)

7 Lewis Moody (capt, Bath Rugby)

8 James Haskell (Ricoh Black Rams)


16 Lee Mears (Bath Rugby)

17 Dave Wilson (Bath Rugby)

18 Mouritz Botha (Saracens)

19 Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)

20 Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens)

21 Charlie Hodgson (Saracens)

22 Charlie Sharples (Gloucester Rugby)