Four Ulster players will make their Test debuts on Saturday as Ireland welcome the USA to Dublin for their final summer fixture. And there's an uncapped quartet on the bench

Ireland squad for summer Tests 2021

As expected, Andy Farrell has made substantial changes to the Ireland team to face the USA at Aviva Stadium in the final fixture of the Vodafone Summer Series on Saturday (7.15pm).

There are four new caps in the starting XV – all of them from Ulster. Wing Robert Balacoune replaces Jordan Larmour, who went off with a hamstring injury in last weekend’s highly demanding 39-31 win against Japan.

James Hume comes in for Chris Farrell in midfield, where he links up with provincial team-mate Stuart McCloskey. And tighthead Tom O’Toole and openside Nick Timoney also make their debuts after replacing Finlay Bealham and Josh van der Flier respectively. Van der Flier was named Man of the Match against Japan.

There are first starts for their country for scrum-half Craig Casey, lock Ryan Baird and No 8 Gavin Coombes. Wing Andrew Conway is also selected in a team again led by Leinster lock James Ryan. Caelan Doris, picked at eight last week, shifts to six to accommodate Coombes.

The replacements include a further four uncapped players in Fineen Wycherley, Paul Boyle, Caolin Blade and Harry Byrne. Jacob Stockdale, Jamison Gibson-Park, Ultan Dillane and Peter O’Mahony are among those to drop out of the squad for a match that will be televised by RTE (ROI) and on Channel 4’s YouTube channel (NI).

Ireland team to play USA – Saturday 10 July

Hugo Keenan; Robert Baloucoune, James Hume, Stuart McCloskey, Andrew Conway; Joey Carbery, Craig Casey; Dave Kilcoyne, Ronan Kelleher, Tom O’Toole, Ryan Baird, James Ryan (capt), Caelan Doris, Nick Timoney, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: 16 Dave Heffernan, 17 Ed Byrne, 18 Finlay Bealham, 19 Fineen Wycherley, 20 Paul Boyle, 21 Caolin Blade, 22 Harry Byrne, 23 Will Addison.

Ireland team to play Japan – Saturday 3 July

Hugo Keenan; Jordan Larmour, Chris Farrell, Stuart McCloskey, Jacob Stockdale; Joey Carbery, Jamison Gibson Park; Dave Kilcoyne, Ronan Kelleher, Finlay Bealham, Ultan Dillane, James Ryan (captain), Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier, Caelan Doris.

Replacements: Rob Herring, Ed Byrne, John Ryan, Ryan Baird, Gavin Coombes, Craig Casey, Billy Burns, Shane Daly.

Ireland squad for summer Tests 2021


Will Addison (Ulster)

Robert Baloucoune (Ulster)

Caolin Blade (Connacht)

Billy Burns (Ulster)

Harry Byrne (Leinster)

Joey Carbery (Munster)

Craig Casey (Munster)

Andrew Conway (Munster)

Shane Daly (Munster)

Tom Daly (Connacht)

Chris Farrell (Munster)

Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster)

Hugo Keenan (Leinster)

Jordan Larmour (Leinster)

Stuart McCloskey (Ulster)

Garry Ringrose (Leinster) – Replaced by James Hume (Ulster) on 16 June due to a shoulder issue

Jacob Stockdale (Ulster)


Ryan Baird (Leinster)

Finlay Bealham (Connacht)

Paul Boyle (Connacht)

Ed Byrne (Leinster)

Gavin Coombes (Munster)

Ultan Dillane (Connacht)

Peter Dooley (Leinster)

Caelan Doris (Leinster)

Dave Heffernan (Connacht)

Rob Herring (Ulster)

Ronan Kelleher (Leinster)

Dave Kilcoyne (Munster)

Ross Molony (Leinster)

Peter O’Mahony (Munster)

Tom O’Toole (Ulster)

James Ryan (Leinster)

John Ryan (Munster)

Nick Timoney (Ulster)

Josh van der Flier (Leinster)

Fineen Wycherley (Munster)

Can’t get to the shops? You can download the digital edition of Rugby World straight to your tablet or subscribe to the print edition to get the magazine delivered to your door.

Follow Rugby World on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.