Tomas O'Leary during last year's Six Nations

After playing for Ireland A in their loss to Scotland, both Tomas O’Leary and Kevin McLaughlin have been called into Ireland’s Six Nations squad.

Peter Stringer and the uncapped Mike McCarthy are the players to make way for the pair’s inclusion.

The duo’s fitness is small comfort for Ireland coach Declan Kidney who is without an army of players, due to injury, including Stephen Ferris, Tommy Bowe, John Hayes, Shane Horgan, Jamie Heaslip and Andrew Trimble.

Ireland squad:

Backs: G D’Arcy (Leinster), G Duffy (Connacht), K Earls (Munster), L Fitzgerald (Leinster), F McFadden (Leinster), R O’ Gara (Munster), B O’Driscoll (Leinster, captain), T O’Leary (Munster), E Reddan (Leinster), J Sexton (Leinster), P Wallace (Ulster).

Forwards: R Best (Ulster), T Court (Ulster), S Cronin (Connacht), L Cullen (Leinster), C Healy (Leinster), S Jennings (Leinster), D Leamy (Munster), K McLaughlin (Leinster), D O’Callaghan (Munster), P O’Connell (Munster), S O’Brien (Leinster), M O’Driscoll (Munster), M Ross (Leinster), R Ruddock (Leinster), D Wallace (Munster).