Coach Gordon Tietjens, centre, named his Sevens squad that will participate in the Sevens World Series

New Zealand Sevens Coach Gordon Tietjens has today named his first squad of the 2011/2012 season today that will travel to the opening three legs of the HSBC Sevens World Series in Australia, Dubai and South Africa.

Tietjens has named four new caps in his squad with 2011 New Zealand Under 20 players – Waikato’s Glen Robertson and Auckland’s Charles Piutau – both featuring.

Waikato’s Joe Webber and Tasman’s James Marshall will also both wear the New Zealand Sevens strip for the first time this season.

Tietjens said the training camp in Mount Manganui this week was very competitive making it a very tough selection process.

“All the players trained very hard over the last few days and I was impressed with the way the four new players really stepped up and worked extremely hard for their spots.

“The team are really looking forward to heading to the Gold Coast where we know a lot of kiwis are based, so hopefully we’ll get some good support,” he said.

New Zealand is looking to claim their tenth World Series title this season after being crowned World Series Champions for a record ninth time in May.

The Australian leg of the Series will take place in the Gold Coast for the first time this season, having previously been played in Adelaide.

The squad departs Auckland for the Gold Coast on Monday 21 November on QF126 at 3.35pm.

New Zealand Sevens squad for Gold Coast, Dubai and Port Elizabeth:
Toby Arnold                                      Bay of Plenty
Tomasi Cama                                   Manawatu
Scott Curry                                        Bay of Plenty
DJ Forbes, captain                          Counties Manukau
Frank Halai                                       Waikato
Solomon King                                  North Harbour
Tim Mikkelson                                  Waikato
James Marshall                                Tasman
Lote Raikabula                                 Wellington
Charles Piutau                                 Auckland
Glen Robertson                                Waikato
Joe Webber                                       Waikato

HSBC Sevens World Series dates
25-26 November 2011 – Gold Coast, Australia
2-3 December 2011 – Dubai
9-10 December 2011 – Post Elizabeth, South Africa
3-4 February 2012 – Wellington, New Zealand
10-12 February 2012 – Las Vegas, USA
23-25 March 2012 – Hong Kong
31 March-1 April – Japan
5-6 May 2011 – Edinburgh, Scotland
12-13 May 2011 – London, England