Auckland Blues Head coach - Pat Lam

Blues coach Pat Lam says retaining the bulk of the 2011 squad for next year is one of the most pleasing aspects of the 2012 Blues squad– along with the arrival of some pretty exciting newcomers.

“Going into my fourth year, what I am really excited about is the continuity of the squad.  We have only four players joining the Blues for the first time. Having the core of our leadership group back led by Keven Mealamu is fantastic – they will continue to drive the Blues’ way.  The abundance of experience these guys have will be vital for the Under-20 players who are stepping up to the next level.”

“We are also looking forward to seeing the best from players such as Liaki Moli and Brad Mika who suffered horrific injuries last year which ruled them out of the season. There’s no doubt our squad is pretty special – to have in our side the three All Blacks nominated for the 2011 IRB Player of the Year, is not a bad way to head into this campaign.”

Coaches – Pat Lam and Bryce Woodward

Gareth Anscombe
Anthony Boric
Liaki Moli
Lachie Munro
Daniel Braid
*Ma’a Nonu
Luke Braid
Filo Paulo
Charlie Faumuina
*David Raikuna
Michael Hobbs
Rene Ranger
Jerome Kaino
Peter Saili
Chris Lowrey
Benson Stanley
Tevita Mailau
Sherwin Stowers
Pauliasi Manu
Angus Ta’avao
Alby Mathewson
Isaia Toeava
Tom McCartney
*Piri Weepu
Keven Mealamu
Ali Williams
Brad Mika
Tony Woodcock
*George Moala
Rudi Wulf

* First time with the Blues franchise