Ed Kalman, the uncapped 29-year-old Glasgow Warriors prop, has been called into the Scotland squad for the opening two games of the RBS 6 Nations Championship.

Kalman, who had a fine game for the Warriors against Leinster in the Heineken Cup yesterday, will join up with the squad for a training camp in St Andrews next week.

He is called up after his Warriors team-mate, Moray Low, was ruled out of the start of the championship with a knee injury.

Kalman, who has played for Scotland A on 12 occasions has been with the Warriors since he joined them in 2007 after one season with Border Reivers.

He is a product of the Whitecraigs club, having played in the Glasgow south-side club for 10 years from the age of 8. While at Belmont House School in Whitecraigs, he played for Glasgow Schools, and he went on to have two seasons in the Glasgow under-20 team from 2000 to 2002. He has also played professional club rugby in England with Newcastle Falcons and Leeds Tykes and was in a winning Cambridge University team in the 2005 Varsity match.

Scotland squad (revised) for the matches against England (4 February) and Wales (12 February) in the 2012 RBS 6 Nations Championship:

Backs: Joe Ansbro (London Irish), Mike Blair (Edinburgh Rugby), Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors), Simon Danielli (Ulster), Nick De Luca (Edinburgh Rugby), Max Evans (Castres), Stuart Hogg, Ruaridh Jackson (both Glasgow Warriors), Lee Jones, Greig Laidlaw (both Edinburgh Rugby), Rory Lamont (Glasgow Warriors), Sean Lamont (Scarlets), Rory Lawson (Gloucester), Graeme Morrison (Glasgow Warriors), Dan Parks (Cardiff Blues), Steven Shingler (London Irish) and Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors)

Forwards: John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors), Kelly Brown (Saracens), Geoff Cross, David Denton (both Edinburgh Rugby), Alasdair Dickinson (Sale Sharks), Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby), Richie Gray, Dougie Hall (both Glasgow Warriors), Jim Hamilton (Gloucester), Robert Harley (Glasgow Warriors), Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh Rugby), Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors), Scott Lawson (Gloucester), Ed Kalman (Glasgow Warriors), Fraser McKenzie (Sale Sharks), Euan Murray (Newcastle Falcons), Ross Rennie (Edinburgh Rugby), Alasdair Strokosch (Gloucester) and Richie Vernon (Sale Sharks).