Breakthrough: Mark Bennett has played well enough for Glasgow Warriors to earn Scotland selection

Breakthrough: Mark Bennett has played well enough for Glasgow Warriors to earn selection for Scotland’s 41

SCOTLAND HAVE named five uncapped players in their greater training squad of 41 for the November Tests.

Mark Bennett, Jonny Gray and Chris Fusaro have been rewarded for Glasgow Warriors’ fine form sees them earn a call-up for next week’s training camp ahead of the three Tests against Japan, South Africa and Australia while London Irish back-row pair Kieran Low and Blair Cowan are also called up thanks to Scottish ancestry.

Furthermore, Edinburgh pair Stuart McInally and Ross Rennie have been invited to train but as McInally is still learning to hook after moving forward from the back-row in the off-season and with Rennie still trying to shake an injury neither should feature in the Tests.

Talking of his selections for the upcoming Tests: “This squad is about getting the job right for our upcoming Test matches but it’s also about the next 24 months as we build towards Rugby World Cup 2015.

“We have to make sure, too, that our young players, who have the ability to play international footy, get the mileage on the clock ahead of the World Cup.”

Scotland training squad for autumn Tests:

Backs: Mark Bennett (Glasgow Warriors), Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors), Nick De Luca (Edinburgh), Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors), Max Evans (Castres), Tom Heathcote (Bath), Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow Warriors), Sean Lamont (Glasgow Warriors), Greig Laidlaw (Edinburgh), Sean Maitland (Glasgow Warriors), Henry Pyrgos (Glasgow Warriors), Matt Scott (Edinburgh), Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors), Duncan Taylor (Saracens), Greig Tonks (Edinburgh), Tim Visser (Edinburgh), Duncan Weir (Glasgow Warriors)

Forwards: John Barclay (Scarlets), John Beattie (Montpellier), Kelly Brown (Saracens), Blair Cowan (London Irish), Geoff Cross (Edinburgh), David Denton (Edinburgh), Alasdair Dickinson (Edinburgh), Ross Ford (Edinburgh), Chris Fusaro (Glasgow Warriors), Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh), Ryan Grant (Glasgow Warriors), Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors), Richie Gray (Castres), Jim Hamilton (Montpellier), Rob Harley (Glasgow Warriors), Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors), Scott Lawson (Newcastle Falcons), Kieran Low (London Irish), Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors), Pat MacArthur (Glasgow Warriors), Euan Murray (Worcester Warriors), Alasdair Strokosch (Perpignan), Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors), Jon Welsh (Glasgow Warriors)