Back row (from left): J Madge, N Thomas, B Chan, G Boulton, J Buggea, B Thomas, M Spencer, D Waldron. Middle: N Crosley, L Grinsell, E Stooke, C Braley, S Reynolds, M Haley, W Maisey, H Jones. Front: W Graulich, E Behan, L Spencer, T Heard, T Ailes (capt), A Woodburn, W Tanner, B Burns, I Clark.

HARTPURY edged Whitgift, St Joseph’s Ipswich, Clongowes Wood and Coleg Sir Gâr to win our 2010-11 Team of the Year award.

Under Alan Martinovic, who had such success with Colston’s in the 1990s, they won all their games – including the ten AASE league games and two play-off games – to be crowned champions for the second year running. They scored 49 out of a possible 50 points in the North group.

In the semi-final of the league play-offs, Hartpury inflicted the heaviest defeat of the season on old rivals Ivybridge 35-11. In the final, the Gloucester boys got four tries in a 25-13 win over Oaklands College via props Tom Heard
and Jack Cosgrove, No 8 Louis Spencer and full-back Will Maisey.

The Gloucester-based side also recorded some memorable wins away from the RFU league. They took the three-year ground record of Daily Mail Cup winners Whitgift, pipped Welsh Elite College champions Coleg Sir Gâr and accounted for Millfield 24-10.

The side had an experienced pack led by No 8 Tom Ailes, a strong set-piece based around Heard and could play a mix of styles as the occasion demanded. The back three of top try-scorer Ian Clark, Steph Reynolds and top point-scorer Ben Thomas were adventurous attackers.

This article appeared in the July 2011 issue of Rugby World Magazine.

Find a newsagent that sells Rugby World in the UK

Or perhaps you’d like a digital version of the magazine delivered direct to your PC, MAC or Ipad? If so click here.

For Back Issues Contact John Denton Services at 01733-385-170 visit