Bath Rugby name an unchanged starting line-up to the one that soundly beat London Wasps last weekend, as they fly to Kingston Park to face Newcastle Falcons, kick-off 3.00pm.

The first in a double header of games against the Falcons, Bath know that a win is vital to ensure Heineken Cup rugby next season, and to keep their hopes alive of a top four finish.

Nick Abendanon takes his place at fullback, with Jacques Boussuge and last weekend’s hat-trick hero, Tom Biggs, starting outside on the wings. Last weekend’s other try-scorers, Matt Banahan and Matt Carraro, continue their partnership in the centres, as do Sam Vesty and Michael Claassens in the half-backs.

In the pack, David Flatman and David Wilson scrum down either side of Lee Mears, with the experienced Ignacio Fernandez Lobbe and Danny Grewcock adding power in the locks. Ben Skirving, Lewis Moody and Simon Taylor complete the line-up in the back-row.

Duncan Bell explains the momentum that can be taken from last weekend’s bonus point victory over Wasps.

“Twickenham is the type of place that brings out the best in players and I have been very fortunate to play there a few times and it never changes- it is always a special occasion. The thing that made last weekend so special was that at last we put a performance together and put an impressive 40 odd points past a good London Wasps side.

“It’s been a really frustrating season as we have played really well at times, but never quite put in a full 80 minute performance. We talk a lot about 80 minute performances and every team tries to achieve them, but I think that last week’s game was the nearest thing to a full performance.

“We now have two massive games ahead of us that we need to win. We still believe the top four is within our grasp, but it is partly out of our hands now. However, we can take confidence from the impressive style in which we beat Wasps last weekend, and as a team we are completely focused on building on that momentum up in Newcastle.”

Bath Rugby team to face Newcastle Falcons

15. Nick Abendanon

14. Jacques Boussuge

13. Matt Carraro

12. Matt Banahan

11. Tom Biggs

10. Sam Vesty

9. Michael Claassens ( C )

1. David Flatman

2. Lee Mears

3. David Wilson

4. Ignacio Fernandez Lobbe

5. Danny Grewcock

6. Ben Skirving

7. Lewis Moody

8. Simon Taylor


16. Ross Batty

17. Nathan Catt

18. Duncan Bell

19. Josh Ovens

20. Guy Mercer

21. Mark McMillan

22. Butch James

23. Nick Scott