Welsh U20 centre Matthew Morgan

WALES UNDER 20 head coach Darren Edwards has made five changes to the side that drew 26-26 with Ireland last Friday ahead of his side’s final Six Nations game, against France in Albi on Friday (8.45pm, 7.45pm UK time).

Cory Hill returns at lock to partner skipper Macauley Cook, while Blues and Cardiff openside flanker Thomas Young will earn his first Under 20 cap after returning to fitness and form following a leg injury. Dragons scrum half Jonathan Evans starts ahead of Lewis Jones, while Liam Williams will start on the wing and Rheon James joins Owen Williams in the centre.

Ben John has been ruled out of the game due to a wrist injury, while wing Eli Walker is still out with a shoulder injury. Edwards said: “It’s good to see Thomas (Young) and Lloyd Peers back in the squad, this game gives them a chance to stake a claim for the Junior World Championship squad. Lloyd was part of the squad last year and Thomas is a specialist No 7 whose game will hopefully suit the way we are trying to play the game.”

“This is arguably going to be our biggest test to date. France are a different side depending on whether they play at home or away but this game will give us a new benchmark to see where we are ahead of our world cup preparations. We’ve got to get back to how we played against Scotland and Italy, with some real physicality and intensity that was lacking last weekend. We have to take the game to France and make things happen for us. Last week’s disappointment is already behind us, and this is a final chance for players to put down a marker ahead of the next phase.”

Wales Under 20 Squad:

Steve Shingler (Scarlets / Llanelli); Liam Williams (Llanelli), Owen Williams (Blues / Cardiff), Rheon James (Carmarthen Quins), Harry Robinson (Blues); Matthew Morgan (Ospreys / Swansea), Jonathan Evans (Dragons / Newport); Rhodri Jones (Scarlets / Llanelli), Kirby Myhill (Scarlets / Llanelli), Will Taylor (Ospreys / Swansea), Macauley Cook (capt, Blues / Cardiff), Cory Hill (Blues / Pontypridd), Edward Siggery (Pontypridd), Thomas Young (Blues / Cardiff), Ben Thomas (Ospreys / Bridgend).


Sam Parry (Llandovery), WillGriff John (Blues/ Pontypridd), Lloyd Peers (Ospreys / Bridgend), Owen Sheppeard (Blues / Pontypridd), Lewis Jones (Pontypridd), Joseff Griffin (Blues / Cardiff). Adam Warren (Llandovery) Wales Under 20 Six Nations fixtures 2011