We are the champions: South Africa celebrate their first IRB Sevens title for two years

The Official Draw for the 24-team Cathay Pacific/Credit Suisse Hong Kong Sevens was held today at Exchange Square in Hong Kong. Joint World Series leaders New Zealand and England top Pools A and B respectively. New Zealand will face France, Portugal and Korea, while England will play USA, Japan and China.

In Pool C defending Hong Kong Sevens champions Samoa are matched against Scotland, Tonga and Mexico, while USA Sevens runners-up Fiji are matched against Kenya, Russia and Malaysia in Pool D. Champions of Las Vegas South Africa will line up against Wales, Hong Kong and Spain in Pool E and finally, sixth seed Australia face seventh seed Argentina as well as Canada and Zimbabwe in Pool F.



At the halfway stage in this year’s Sevens World Series there have been three different champions, England winning Dubai, New Zealand victorious in both South Africa and at home in Wellington and South Africa the most recent champion in Las Vegas.

New Zealand and England share top spot in the Series table with 80 points apiece. Fiji and defending Hong Kong and Series champions Samoa are joint third (64) and South Africa is close behind in fifth (56).

As the only 24-team tournament on the World Series, Hong Kong carries extra points for the successful teams, with 30 points going to the Cup champions rather than the usual 24.