Ireland set up a Pool B decider against France with a comfortable win over Wales

Ireland Women’s Six Nations Squad 2021

It took Ireland just 18 minutes to secure the try bonus point as they opened their Women’s Six Nations campaign with a 45-0 victory over Wales in Cardiff.

The Irish have played only one Test in the past year and the vast majority of their players haven’t been able to play club rugby either as the amateur game has been suspended in Ireland. However, there was nothing rusty about this performance.

It took the visitors less than three minutes to score their opening try, Eimear Considine going over after an impressive break from Hannah Tyrrell, and Beibhinn Parsons crossed in the 11th minute after finding space on the wing and then cutting inside.

Both Parsons and Considine crossed again before the break, the former from a cross-field kick and the latter from a weaving run in the Welsh 22. Sene Naoupu added a fifth from close range before half-time to give Ireland a 31-0 lead at the break.

The second period was not quite so one-sided. In fact, Ireland had to wait until the 72nd minute to increase their lead as Wales were far more resolute in defence.

It was Dorothy Wall who scored the sixth try, going over in the corner after Parsons had darted to within a couple of metres, and then Tyrrell added the final flourish when breaking clear in the last minute to make it seven tries in all.

Ireland now take on France next Saturday to determine who will top Pool B and face England in the Six Nations final.

Ireland team to play Wales – Saturday 10 April

Eimear Considine; Lauren Delany, Eve Higgins, Sene Naoupu, Beibhinn Parsons; Hannah Tyrrell, Kathryn Dane; Lindsay Peat, Cliodhna Moloney, Linda Djougang, Aoife McDermott, Nichola Fryday, Dorothy Wall, Claire Molloy, Ciara Griffin.

Replacements: Neve Jones, Katie O’Dwyer, Laura Feely, Brittany Hogan, Hannah O’Connor, Emily Lane, Stacey Flood, Enya Breen.

Ireland Women’s Six Nations squad

Adam Griggs has named a 35-player Ireland squad for this year’s Women’s Six Nations campaign.

Back-row Ciara Griffin continues as captain of a side that has played just one Test in 12 months due to the pandemic. Griggs said: “It means a huge amount to us to have Test rugby on the horizon.”

There are five uncapped players in the squad – Stacey Flood, Eve Higgins, Emily Lane, Grace Moore and Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe – and they have all represented Ireland at sevens level.

Ireland are without the experienced Ciara Cooney, Edel McMahon and Larissa Muldoon, however, due to injury.

Ireland’s first game is away to Wales before they host France and then comes ‘finals day’, with a match against the country ranked in the same position as them in Pool A, one of England, Italy or Scotland.

Ireland Women’s Six Nations Squad 2021



Enya Breen (23 Apr 1999/UL Bohemian/Centre)

Eimear Considine (8 May 1991/UL Bohemian/Wing)

Kathryn Dane (5 Sep 1996/Old Belvedere/Scrum-half)

Lauren Delany (17 Jul 1989/Sale Sharks/Full-back)

Aoife Doyle (2 Jun 1995/Railway Union/Wing)

Katie Fitzhenry (23 Apr 1989/Blackrock College/Centre)

Stacey Flood (5 Aug 1996/Railway Union/Fly-half)

Eve Higgins (23 Jun 1999/Railway Union/Centre)

Ailsa Hughes (18 Aug 1991/Railway Union/Scrum-half)

Emily Lane (10 Jan 1999/Blackrock College/Scrum-half)

Ellen Murphy (9 Apr 1995/Blackrock College/Scrum-half)

Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe (26 Apr 1995/Railway Union/Wing)

Sene Naoupu (2 Feb 1984/Old Belvedere/Centre)

Beibhinn Parsons (30 Nov 2001/Ballinasloe/Blackrock College/Wing)

Laura Sheehan (23 Sep 1993/Exeter Chiefs/Wing)

Hannah Tyrrell (10 Apr 1990/Old Belvedere/Wing)


Claire Boles (28 May 1998/Railway Union/Back-row)

Anna Caplice (13 Sep 1989/Harlequins/Back-row)

Linda Djougang (17 May 1996/Old Belvedere/Prop)

Laura Feely (4 Dec 1991/Blackrock College/Prop)

Nichola Fryday (2 Jun 1995/Blackrock College/Back-row/Lock)

Ciara Griffin (10 Jan 1994/UL Bohemian/Back-row)

Brittany Hogan (19 Sep 1998/Old Belvedere/Lock)

Emma Hooban (3 Dec 1997/Blackrock College/Hooker)

Neve Jones (26 Dec 1998/Malone/Hooker)

Leah Lyons (27 Nov 1994/Harlequins/Prop)

Aoife McDermott (4 Jan 1991/Railway Union/Lock)

Claire Molloy (22 Jun 1988/Wasps/Back-row)

Cliodhna Moloney (31 May 1992/Wasps/Hooker)

Grace Moore (21 May 1996/Railway Union/Back-row)

Hannah O’Connor (28 Apr 1990/Blackrock College/Back-row)

Katie O’Dwyer (27 Jun 1991/Railway Union/Prop)

Chloe Pearse (3 Mar 1994/UL Bohemian/Prop)

Lindsay Peat (5 Nov 1980/Railway Union/Prop)

Dorothy Wall (4 May 2000/Blackrock College/Back-row)


Ireland Women’s Six Nations Fixtures 2021

(All kick-off times are UK & Ireland time)

Round Two

Sat 10 April Wales v Ireland (5pm, Cardiff Arms Park, Cardiff) Live on BBC Wales/RTE2

Round Three

Sat 17 April Ireland v France (2.15pm, Energia Park, Dublin) Live on BBC Wales/RTE2


Sat 24 April Irealnd v Pool A team ranked in same position (tbc) Live on BBC iPlayer/RTE2

Don’t miss a game with this Women’s Six Nations TV coverage guide.

Can’t get to the shops? You can download the digital edition of Rugby World straight to your tablet or subscribe to the print edition to get the magazine delivered to your door.

Follow Rugby World on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.