Robinson will captain the squad

Michael Foley has backed the same team to come up with the goods for a second week running as the Waratahs prepare to travel to Hamilton ahead of Saturday’s round six Super Rugby clash.

Naming an unchanged team to play the Chiefs, who currently top the New Zealand conference, the head coach is aware that his side will need to recapture that same frame of mind if they are to record their third win of the season.

“The players have been very clear about the standards they demand for themselves again this week” said Foley, after the team dispatched the Sharks 34-30 at the Allianz Stadium last Saturday afternoon.

“It was that attitude that carried through into the game.  To come together and the way they undertook the challenge for the full 80 minutes was superb.

“The two things that stood out in the Sharks game were that we tried to play with the ball as a 15 and our defensive discipline was good for the entire match.”

After their round four 29-22 victory over the Brumbies, their third win in a row, the Chiefs return from a bye week full of confidence as they look forward to playing in front of their home crowd.

“We know the Chiefs will be a big game for us.  They’ve always been a side able to spread the ball, they’ve certainly got pace out wide, and in Sonny Bill Williams they have another dimension in attack. Their forward pack is certainly a threat, particularly at scrum and lineout.”

Since 1996, NSW have won 10 of the 16 encounters between the sides.  The biggest of those was the last time the teams played in Waikato Stadium in 2010, when the visitors recorded a 46-19 victory.

Starting XV:
15. Bernard Foley
14. Tom Kingston
13. Rob Horne
12. Tom Carter
11. Adam Ashley-Cooper
10. Berrick Barnes
9.    Brendan McKibbin
8.    Wycliff Palu
7.    Chris Alcock
6.    Dave Dennis
5.    Kane Douglas
4.    Dean Mumm
3.    Sekope Kepu
2.    Tatafu Polota-Nau
1.    Benn Robinson (C)

16. John Ulugia
17. Paddy Ryan
18. Sitaleki Timani
19. Lopeti Timani
20. Jono Jenkins
21. Sarel Pretorius
22. Daniel Halangahu