Tevita Taumoepeau of Worcester Warriors is tackled by Ernst Joubert of Saracens

Powerhouse prop Tevita Taumoepeau will play his 150th game for Worcester Warriors as the team looks to maintain their perfect start to the RFU Championship play-offs with an away trip to Nottingham Rugby on Friday night (kick-off 7.45pm).

Taumoepeau, who has become a huge fan’s favourite during his six year stay at Sixways, will hit the memorable milestone as Head Coach Richard Hill makes three changes to the starting line-up that defeated London Welsh last weekend.

Hill calls-up prop loosehead prop Adam Black and vastly experienced hooker Chris Fortey to join Taumoepeau in the front row for the game at Meadow Lane. Scotland international Alex Grove will also start his first game in the play-offs as he partners Alex Crockett in midfield. Crockett moves to inside centre while Dale Rasmussen will provide firepower from the replacements bench.

Hill praised the contribution of Taumoepeau during his Worcester career and admitting the Tongan giant was now making even more impact for the Warriors. “Tevita is an extremely strong man who very rarely budges in the scrum – everyone in world rugby knows that is his main asset,” he said.

“However, what we have seen this season is him develop his all-round game. He has worked exceptionally hard and been very disciplined with his diet, as a result he has lost any excess body fat and really honed down. Tevita is in very good shape and his mobility around the pitch is better and he is having the ball far more. There is still much more to come from him.”

“I have been delighted with his efforts at this stage of his career and we all wish him the best as he reaches another milestone in his time at Warriors.” added Coach Richard Hill

Warriors team to play Nottingham Rugby

15 Chris Pennell (c)

14 Marcel Garvey

13 Alex Grove

12 Alex Crockett

11 Miles Benjamin

10 Andy Goode

9 Jonny Arr

1 Adam Black

2 Chris Fortey

3 Tevita Taumoepeau

4 Graham Kitchener

5 Craig Gillies

6 Neil Best

7 James Collins

8 Kai Horstmann


16 Aleki Lutui

17 Bruce Douglas

18 Greg Rawlinson

19 Adam Balding

20 Ollie Frost

21 Joe Carlisle

22 Dale Rasmussen