Blues boy Sam Warburton

Cardiff Blues have named a side that shows a number of changes for their final regular season match.

With Tom James picking up a groin injury at Rodney Parade last Friday and Leigh Halfpenny and Richard Mustoe out, Jamie Roberts moves to the wing with Dafydd Hewitt starting at centre.

In the forwards Sam Warburton moves to blindside with Martyn Williams starting at seven. Michael Paterson moves to the second row in place of the injured Bradley Davies while Sam Hobbs starts in the front row in place of the injured John Yapp.

The Blues need to win to guarantee qualification for the last four, but have not won away from home on Welsh soil so far this season. It is also a must win match for the Scarlets to give them any hope of reaching the Magners League semi-finals.

The Blues will be looking to reverse the round six loss to the Scarlets who won 16-10 at Cardiff City Stadium Speaking ahead of the match, Cardiff Blues Director of Rugby David Young said, “Obviously we were disappointed with the result at the Dragons, however, there were some positives which we’ve looked at and have to build on.”

“We are still fourth, so we know what we have to do. We have to go there and win, it’s a difficult place to go to, we know that, but at the end of the day if you want to get into the top four you have to go to these places and win.”

“We are well capable of winning and have to be upbeat.” “If we win we will be in the Play Offs which was our aim at the start of the season, then you are in one off games where anything can happen.”

“Everyone has injuries at this stage of the season. It’s nice if you can play with your best team, but if you can’t you just have to role your sleeves up and get on with it.”

Tom James picked up a groin injury and John Yapp a calf injury in the loss to the Dragons, while Bradley Davies is expected to be out for between two to six weeks with a chest injury

Scarlets v Cardiff Blues
Friday 6 May, 7.05pm kick off

Cardiff Blues starting XV
15 Dan Fish
14 Jamie Roberts
13 Casey Laulala
12 Dafydd Hewitt
11 Chris Czekaj
10 Dan Parks
9 Richie Rees
8 Xavier Rush
7 Martyn Williams
6 Sam Warburton
5 Paul Tito (c)
4 Michael Paterson
3 Taufa’ao Filise
2 Gareth Williams
1 Sam Hobbs

16 Rhys Williams
17 Tom Davies
18 Scott Andrews
19 Deiniol Jones
20 Ma’ama Molitika
21 Lloyd Williams
22 Ceri Sweeney
23 Harry Robinson

Not available for selection due to injury:
Tom James – Groin
John Yapp – Calf
Bradley Davies – Chest
Andries Pretorius – Knee
Leigh Halfpenny – Ankle
Richard Mustoe – Groin
T Rhys Thomas – Hip
Ben Blair – Knee
James Down – Foot
Gethin Jenkins – Toe