euan murray newcastle falconsBig name signing, Euan Murray will make his debut against Sale Sharks in the Aviva Premiership on Friday (kick off 7.45pm).

The 30-year-old Scotland international has been handed the No. 3 jersey as Falcons boss, Alan Tait makes three changes to the side that was defeated at Wasps last week.

Charlie Amesbury returns to the wing after a horrific eye injury sustained during Newcastle’s 12-6 victory over Gloucester back in November, as Tait rotates the backline. South African flyer, Gcobani Bobo moves to the centres, with Luke Eves dropping to the bench.

And, Brent Wilson comes in to the pack replacing West Countryman, Redford Pennycook who provides quality in reserve.

“We’ve been boosted by Jonny Golding this week,” said Tait.

“He will take a place on the bench, and Andrew Van der Heijden has also been doing contact work with the boys this week. The Sale game has just come a bit quick for him, but what a difference it makes to see quality like that on the training field.

“Euan Murray’s debut is another thing to look forward to, and this is a game that I’ve been waiting for all season,” he added.

Newcastle face a Sharks outfit revitalised by their win at home to Saracens last weekend, and Tait is expecting a tough challenge.

“That’s what happens, and this Aviva Premiership is full of those surprises. You can see that they’ve changed coaches, and the senior players seem to be having a fair bit to say in leading the ship.

“Pete Anglesea is a young coach, and the older players there, look to be leading the way. The likes of Charlie Hodgson and Mark Cueto seem to be going out there and just enjoying their rugby – and they’re throwing it about well and they caught Saracens by surprise,” said Tait.


15. Jeremy Manning

14. Luke Fielden

13. Gcobani Bobo

12. Tane Tu’ipulotu

11. Charlie Amesbury

10. Jimmy Gopperth

9. Micky Young

1. Grant Shiells

2. Matt Thompson

3. Euan Murray

4. James Hudson

5. Tim Swinson

6. Brent Wilson

7. Will Welch

8. Ally Hogg


16. Joe Graham

17. Jonny Golding

18. Kieran Brookes

19. Filipo Levi

20. Redford Pennycook

21. Jason Spice

22. Luke Eves

23. Danny Williams

Click here for Murray’s thoughts on joining Newcastle Falcons