gethin jenkins

Gethin Jenkins returns for Wales on Sunday

WALES welcome back Gethin Jenkins and Dan Lydiate for their RBS 6 Nations fixture against Scotland on Sunday, and have made a total of three changes to their starting XV.

Jenkins, who has successfully recovered from a knee injury, replaces Saracens youngster Rhys Gill at loosehead prop, while Lydiate, returning from an ankle problem, will step into the No 6 jersey. Ryan Jones, who played at blindside flanker last week in the victory over Ireland, moves to the second row to replace Bradley Davies, who has been handed a seven-week ban for a tip tackle on Ireland’s Donncha Ryan.

lou reed wales

Lou Reed

The final change is on the bench, as uncapped Scarlets lock Lou Reed takes the place of Osprey Justin Tipuric, who has injured his ankle.

Head coach Warren Gatland said: “Gethin brings a wealth of experience to the team, which is the main reason we have brought him in for Rhys, who is unlucky to miss out with Paul James covering both sides of the scrum from the bench.

“Dan’s return from injury is timely and Ryan’s versatility allows us to cover for Bradley with minimum disruption, with Lou Reed also giving us an extra option from the bench.

“We cannot afford to underestimate Scotland, the amount of possession and territory they had against England last weekend meant that they should have won the game and they will come to the Millennium Stadium buoyed by that knowledge.”


Wales: Leigh Halfpenny; Alex Cuthbert, Jonathan Davies, Jamie Roberts, George North; Rhys Priestland, Mike Phillips; Gethin Jenkins, Huw Bennett, Adam Jones, Ryan Jones, Ian Evans, Dan Lydiate, Sam Warburton (capt), Toby Faletau.

Replacements: Ken Owens, Paul James, Lou Reed, Andy Powell, Lloyd Williams, James Hook, Scott Williams.

Scotland: Rory Lamont; Lee Jones, Nick de Luca, Sean Lamont, Max Evans; Greig Laidlaw, Chris Cusiter; Allan Jacobsen, Ross Ford (capt), Geoff Cross, Richie Gray, Jim Hamilton, Alasdair Strokosch, Ross Rennie, David Denton.

Replacements: Scott Lawson, Ed Kalman, Alastair Kellock, John Barclay, Mike Blair, Duncan Weir, Stuart Hogg.

Referee: Romain Poite (France)

See Shane Williams break Scottish hearts at the Millennium Stadium in 2010 below