Gregor Townsend has named his Scotland side to face Wales in the opening game of the 2018 Six Nations

Scotland Team to Face Wales

Gregor Townsend has named one-cap centre Chris Harris in his side to face Wales this weekend. The move means that fans will now see Huw Jones playing with 12 on his back. Along with Byron McGuigan, Newcastle Falcon Harris is one of only two back-line players who isn’t from Glasgow Warriors.

Starting Centre: Falcon Chris Harris has been given his first cap by Townsend, a tough match against Wales this weekend

Ali Price has been given the scrum-half jersey over the returning Greig Laidlaw, who will have to make do with a spot on the bench.

Youth over experience: Townsend has picked Price over Laidlaw to start in the No 9 jersey this weekend

In the pack, there are some key developments. Cornel Du Preez starts at the back of the scrum at No 8. Injury to Richie Gray means Edinburgh lock Ben Toolis comes in and, finally, Gordon Reid and Jon Welsh are the starting props, amidst a shocking run of injuries to many of Scotland’s front row.

Problems at prop: Amidst a long list of injuries, Gordon Reid (pictured) and Jon Welsh start in the front row

Jamie Bhatti and the uncapped Murray McCallum provide cover in the front row.

Talking about his selection, Townsend said he had picked a side that could provide “the intensity and speed required to win in Cardiff”.

“Last year’s championship highlighted that every game is a fierce competition and that all teams have to play at their very best to win away from home.

“Delivering that level of performance has been firmly in our thoughts during our preparations this week.

“We’re expecting a really physical game against a very good team.”


15. Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors)
14. Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors)
13. Chris Harris (Newcastle Falcons)
12. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors)
11. Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks)
10. Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors)
9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors)
1. Gordon Reid (London Irish)
2. Stuart McInally (Edinburgh)
3. Jon Welsh (Newcastle Falcons)
4. Ben Toolis (Edinburgh)
5. Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors)
6. John Barclay (Scarlets, captain)
7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh)
8. Cornell du Preez (Edinburgh)

Scott Lawson (Newcastle Falcons)
Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors)
Murray McCallum (Edinburgh)
Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh)
Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors)
Greig Laidlaw (Clermont Auvergne)
Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors)
Sean Maitland (Saracens).