Check in here for the Wallabies 33 for France 2023

The Wallabies need a miracle to get to the knock-outs. And for their part, they need to win well against Portugal for several reasons. And so Eddie Jones has twisted with his Australia Rugby World Cup squad to face os Lobos.

Samu Kerevi has been dropped from the 23 completely. Izaia Perese and Lalakai Foketi make up the centres, while Fraser McReight comes right back into the back row.

Related: Can Portugal beat the Wallabies?

James Slipper will become the most-capped Wallaby at a Rugby World Cup.

Here is the Wallabies line-up.

Australia team to play Portugal

Andrew Kellaway; Mark Nawaqanitawase, Izaia Perese, Lalakai Foketi, Marika Koroibete; Ben Donaldson, Tate McDermott; Angus Bell, Dave Porecki (captain), James Slipper, Nick Frost, Richie Arnold, Tob Hooper, Fraser McReight, Rob Valetini.

Replacements: Matt Faessler, Blake Schoupp, Pone Fa’amausili, Rob Leota, Josh Kemeny, Issak Fines-Leleiwasa, Carter Gordon, Suli Vunivalu.

Australia Rugby World Cup squad 2023


Angus Bell (22, NSW Waratahs, 23 Tests)

Pone Fa’amausili (26, Melbourne Rebels, 5 Tests)

Zane Nonggorr (22, Queensland Reds, 2 Tests)

Blake Schoupp (23, ACT Brumbies, uncapped)

James Slipper (34, ACT Brumbies, 131 Tests)

Taniela Tupou (27, Queensland Reds, 48 Tests)


Matt Faessler (24, Queensland Reds, 1 Test)

David Porecki (30, NSW Waratahs, 14 Tests)

Jordan Uelese (26, Melbourne Rebels, 18 Tests)


Richie Arnold (33, Stade Toulousain, 4 Tests)

Nick Frost (23, ACT Brumbies, 12 Tests)

Matt Philip (29, Melbourne Rebels, 28 Tests)

Will Skelton (captain) (31, La Rochelle, 28 Tests)

Back Row 

Langi Gleeson (22, NSW Waratahs, 3 Tests)

Tom Hooper (22, ACT Brumbies, 3 Tests)

Rob Leota (26, Melbourne Rebels, 16 Tests)

Fraser McReight (24, Queensland Reds, 12 Tests)

Rob Valetini (24, ACT Brumbies, 34 Tests)


Issak Fines-Leleiwasa (27, Western Force, uncapped)

Tate McDermott (vice-captain) (24, Queensland Reds, 25 Tests)

Nic White (33, ACT Brumbies, 63 Tests)


Carter Gordon (22, Melbourne Rebels, 4 Tests)


Lalakai Foketi (28, NSW Waratahs, 5 Tests)

Samu Kerevi (29, Urayasu D-Rocks, 45 Tests)

Izaia Perese (26, NSW Waratahs, 5 Tests)

Jordan Petaia (23, Queensland Reds, 27 Tests)

Outside Backs

Max Jorgensen (18, NSW Waratahs, uncapped)

Andrew Kellaway (27, Melbourne Rebels, 23 Tests)

Marika Koroibete (31, Saitama Wild Knights, 55 Tests)

Mark Nawaqanitawase (22, NSW Waratahs, 6 Tests)

Suliasi Vunivalu (27, Queensland Reds, 2 Tests)


Ben Donaldson (23, NSW Waratahs, 2 Tests)

Josh Kemeny (24, Melbourne Rebels, 1 Test)

Australia Rugby World Cup Pool

Australia have been drawn in Rugby World Cup Pool C alongside Wales, Fiji, Georgia and Portugal.

Sat 9 Sept Australia v Georgia  (Stade de France, Saint-Denis)

Sun 17 Sept Australia v Fiji (Stade Geoffroy Guichard, Saint-Étienne)

Sun 24 Sept Australia v Wales (Parc Ol, Lyon)

Sun 1 Oct Australia v Portugal (Stade Geoffroy Guichard, Saint-Étienne)

What about the knock-outs?

The knockout stages will follow the same format as previous years, with teams from Pools A and B then Pools C and D meeting in the quarter-finals. So Wales and England could meet in the last eight, for example.

QF1 – Winner Pool C v Runner-up Pool D
QF2 – Winner Pool B v Runner-up Pool A
QF3 – Winner Pool D v Runner-up Pool C
QF4 – Winner Pool A v Runner-up Pool B

Then the semi-finals will be the Winner of QF1 v Winner QF2 and the Winner QF3 v Winner QF4.

Download the digital edition of Rugby World straight to your tablet or subscribe to the print edition to get the magazine delivered to your door.

Follow Rugby World on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.