nicky robinson gloucester

Nicky Robinson

Welsh international fly half Nicky Robinson is back at fly half as Gloucester Rugby wind up the regular section of the Aviva Premiership calendar with a home fixture against Sale Sharks on Saturday (kick off 3pm).

Robinson was forced to leave the field during the recent home win over Northampton Saints with a dead leg but is back and raring to go as Gloucester sign off at Kingsholm for 2010-11.

The only other change to the back line that started at Saracens the weekend before last sees Rory Lawson return to partner Robinson at half back.

There are more changes to the pack where only Scott Lawson and Alasdair Strokosch retain their places in the starting line up.

Meanwhile, there is a welcome return to the matchday squad for Lesley Vainikolo for the first time since injuring a shoulder at Leeds on January 30th.

Gloucester enter the weekend in third place in the table and know that a single point will secure a playoff berth with a trip to either Leicester Tigers or Saracens looming.

The Sharks defeated Gloucester 36-31 at Edgeley Park a few weeks ago and Head Coach Bryan Redpath told the media this week that his side will be looking to finish the Aviva Premiership season unbeaten at Kingsholm.

“It’s huge for the players. We’ve said all season that we’re going to try and make Kingsholm a really tough place to come to and compete against us and we’ve done that so far.”

“We were frustrated by the game up there and they showed some great character and fighting qualities against us. We came away and we lost the game.”

“We owe it to our fans to finish the season well. There will be a few disappointed boys not involved at the weekend for various reasons and the ones that take the pitch will want to do a job for them as well.”

“We have everything to gain and Sale have nothing to lose. They’re playing for pride and that makes them a dangerous animal.”

Gloucester Rugby:

Tom Voyce; Charlie Sharples, Henry Trinder, Eliota Fuimaono-Sapolu, James Simpson-Daniel; Nicky Robinson, Rory Lawson; Nick Wood, Scott Lawson, Paul Doran-Jones; Dave Attwood, Alex Brown; Alasdair Strokosch, Akapusi Qera, Luke Narraway (capt)


Darren Dawidiuk, Alasdair Dickinson, Rupert Harden, Jim Hamilton, Brett Deacon, Dave Lewis, Tim Taylor, Lesley Vainikolo