Come here for the latest team news and Michael Cheika's entire 33-man squad

Michael Cheika has made three changes to his Argentina Rugby World Cup squad to take on Samoa in Pool D.

Having not played since their opening loss to England, some key positions have had a swap. Eduardo Bello coming into the front-row, Guido Petti into the second-row, and Matías Moroni is in at centre.

Cheika has chosen to go for a 5-2 split among the replacements.

Argentina team to play Samoa at Rugby World Cup

Juan Cruz Mallia; Emiliano Boffelli, Matías Moroni, Santiago Chocobares, Mateo Carreras; Santiago Carreras, Gonzalo Bertranou; Thomas Gallo, Julian Montoya (captain), Eduardo Bello, Guido Petti Pagadizabal, Matias Alemanno, Pablo Matera, Marcos Kremer, Juan Martin Gonzalez.

Replacements: Agustín Creevy, Mayco Vivas, Francisco Gómez Kodela, Pedro Rubiolo, Rodrigo Bruni, Tomas Cubelli, Nicolas Sanchez, Lucio Cinti.  

Argentina Rugby World Cup squad 2023

Check out who made the cut for the Argentina Rugby World Cup squad – and see the full list of Rugby World Cup fixtures here.


Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro
Francisco Gómez Kodela
Joel Sclavi
Thomas Gallo
Eduardo Bello
Julián Montoya (captain)
Agustín Creevy
Ignacio Ruiz
Matías Alemanno
Tomás Lavanini
Guido Petti
Facundo Isa
Pablo Matera
Juan Martín González
Santiago Grondona
Marcos Kremer
Rodrigo Bruni
Pedro Rubiolo.


Gonzalo Bertranou
Tomás Cubelli
Lautaro Bazán Vélez
Santiago Carreras
Nicolás Sánchez
Santiago Chocobares
Lucio Cinti
Jerónimo de la Fuente
Matías Moroni
Emiliano Boffelli
Mateo Carreras
Rodrigo Isgró
Juan Cruz Mallía
Martín Bogado
Juan Imhoff

Argentina Rugby World Cup Pool

Argentina have been drawn in Rugby World Cup Pool D alongside England, Japan, Samoa and Chile.

Their group stage fixtures are as follows:

Sat 9 Sept England v Argentina  (Stade Vélodrome, Marseille)

Fri 22 Sept Argentina v Samoa (Stade Geoffroy-Guichard, Saint-Étienne)

Sat 30 Sept Argentina v Chile (Stade de la Beaujoire, Nantes)

Sun 8 Oct Japan v Argentina (Stade de la Beaujoire, Nantes)

The knockout stages will follow the same format as previous years, with teams from Pools A and B then Pools C and D meeting in the quarter-finals. So Wales and England could meet in the last eight, for example.

QF1 – Winner Pool C v Runner-up Pool D
QF2 – Winner Pool B v Runner-up Pool A
QF3 – Winner Pool D v Runner-up Pool C
QF4 – Winner Pool A v Runner-up Pool B

Then the semi-finals will be the Winner of QF1 v Winner QF2 and the Winner QF3 v Winner QF4.

Download the digital edition of Rugby World straight to your tablet or subscribe to the print edition to get the magazine delivered to your door.

Follow Rugby World on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.