Here is where you can find Toutai Kefu's Tongan squad

Head coach Toutai Kefu has named 32 players in the Tonga Rugby World Cup squad – with one more name to be added. The big omission is Israel Folau, who won’t compete because of injury.

Folau won his first cap for Tonga in 2022 after he switched allegiances following a career with Australia. The 34-year-old was fired by Rugby Australia in 2019.

Related: Why Israel Folau was sacked by Australia

George Moala does make the squad despite speculation he would miss out after receiving a five-week ban for a red card against Canada.

Several players who have switched their allegiance to Tonga also make the squad including Charles Piutau, who previously played for New Zealand.

Check out who made the cut in the Tonga Rugby World Cup squad below – and see the full list of Rugby World Cup fixtures here.

Tonga Rugby World Cup squad 2023

Backs: Pita Ahki, Malakai Fekitoa, William Havili, Fine Inisi, Solomone Kata, Otumaka Mausia, George Moala, Manu Paea, Charles Piutau, Augustine Pulu, Sonatane Takulua, Kyren Taumoefolau, Afusipa Taumoepeau, Anzelo Tuitavuki

Forwards: Sosefo ‘Apikotoa, Adam Coleman, Vaea Fifita, Siegfried Fisi’ihoi, Feao Fotuaika, Solomone Funaki, Tanginoa Halaifonua, Sione Havili Talitui, Tau Kolomatangi, Paula Latu, Samiuela Lousi, Sitiveni Mafi, Siua Maile, Samiuela Moli, Paula Ngauamo, Semisi Paea, Ben Tameifuna, Sione Vailanu.

Tonga Rugby World Cup Pool

Tonga have been drawn in Rugby World Cup Pool B alongside reigning champions South Africa, Ireland, Scotland and Romania.

Sat 16 Sept Tonga v Ireland  (Stade de la Beaujoire, Nantes)

Sun 24 Sept Tonga v Scotland (Stade de Nice, Nice)

Sun 1 Oct Tonga v South Africa (Stade Vélodrome, Marseille)

Sun 8 Oct Tonga v Romania (Stade Pierre Mauroy, Lille)

The knockout stages will follow the same format as previous years, with teams from Pools A and B then Pools C and D meeting in the quarter-finals. So Wales and England could meet in the last eight, for example.

QF1 – Winner Pool C v Runner-up Pool D
QF2 – Winner Pool B v Runner-up Pool A
QF3 – Winner Pool D v Runner-up Pool C
QF4 – Winner Pool A v Runner-up Pool B

Then the semi-finals will be the Winner of QF1 v Winner QF2 and the Winner QF3 v Winner QF4.

Download the digital edition of Rugby World straight to your tablet or subscribe to the print edition to get the magazine delivered to your door.

Follow Rugby World on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.