alex grove worcester warriors

Worcester's Alex Grove

Birmingham Solihull have named their team to face league leaders Worcester Warriors tomorrow, Saturday 19th February kick off 2pm at Damson Park. The Bees will be keen to get a final win bonus point to take into the forthcoming Relegation Playoffs, but are under no illusions about the challenge in facing the run away Championship leaders.

Director of Rugby Russell Earnshaw and Bees’ leading try scoring Simon Hunt both come into the starting line up after returning from England Sevens duty, with Ollie Grove due to line up against his younger brother and former Bee Alex.

A number of recent injuries sustained in the forwards over, what has been, an intense fixture schedule in recent weeks, has meant that Earnshaw has delayed naming his bench. Matt Long, Adrian Griffiths and Semisi Taulava are all sidelined with hamstring injuries and Bees have also recalled George Thomas – who was on loan at Loughborough Students – as emergency cover at hooker, with both Ben Gerry and Jack Preece ruled out for six and six to eight weeks respectively.

Speaking ahead of the game, which is expected to be played in front of the biggest crowd of the season at Damson Park, Russell Earnshaw said, “Worcester have proven over the course of the season to be the best side in the league and so this will be a huge challenge for us going into a pivotal two months. It will also be the first time ex-Bees Matt Mullan and Alex Grove feature against the club, the latter playing against his younger brother for the first time and so we are looking forward to welcoming them back. As for us, we need to build on the recent home performances against Doncaster, Rotherham and Bristol.”

Tickets will be available on the gate, subject to ground capacity but supporters from both Clubs are urged to arrive at the ground in good time, especially with an earlier than usual kick off at 2pm

The Bees team to face Worcester on Saturday at 2pm is: 1.Rob Dugard, 2.Ross McMillan (c), 3.Leo Halavatau, 4.Ross Noonan, 5.Dan Sanderson, 6.Rob Connolly, 7.Mike Denbee, 8.Russell Earnshaw, 9.Rod Petty, 10.Mark Woodrow, 11.Ollie Grove, 12.Sam Cox, 13.Will Lawson, 14.Simon Hunt, 15.Ollie Winter.

Replacements: TBA