Names released for Quilter Cup tie on 25 October

We now know the final Barbarians squad to face England in the Quilter Cup on Sunday 25 October.

The final group is made up of some well-established names, Sarries stars, Fijian up-and-comers and in Simon Kerrod and Tom de Glanville, players who had only recently been on the other side, with the England set-up.

We first heard that former England skipper Chris Robshaw was going to don black and white before heading off to play in the United States with San Diego Legion. Then it was anounced that veteran scrum-half Richard Wigglesworth – who made 250 appearances for Saracens – would come in, longside his pals Jackson Wray and Manu Vunipola.

It was then released that plenty of Saracens team-mates would also represent the Baa-Baas. Sean Maitland, Tim Swinson, Joel Kpoku, Calum Clark, Dom Morris, Juan Pablo Socino, Alex Lewington and Tom Woolstencroft all agreed to represent the invitational team at Twickenham too.

Then seven Flying Fijians came in, before it was finalised that England hopefuls Kerrod and de Glanville will also be in the mix.

There may be a testimonial feel to the clash as Robshaw bids a fond farewell at the ground where he led the national team.

It is also another chance for Saracens stars to say goodbye to friend Wigglesworth, who (including his time with Sale Sharks) has won nine trophies across the domestic and European competitions and is now the Premiership’s all-time appearance holder. He also has 33 England caps. The scrum-half hopes to continue playing at the top level.

Related: Fiji squad for Autumn Nations Cup

New Fiji boss Vern Cotter is in charge of the Barbarians for this contest, with Fiji assitant Glen Jackson and former Scotland and British & Irish Lions lock Nathan Hines also in the backroom team. After this, Cotter and Jackson set their sights on the Autumn Nations Cup.

Fiji open their account in that competition against France on November 15.

The Barbarians squad to face England:


Calum Clark

Christopher Eves

Haereiti Hetet

Tevita Ikanivere

Simon Kerrod

Joel Kpoku

Rusiate Nasove

Manu Ratuniyarawa

Chris Robshaw

Tim Swinson

Tom Woolstencroft

Jackson Wray


Tom de Glanville

Simone Kuruvoli

Alex Lewington

Sean Maitland

Fergus McFadden

Dom Morris

Juan Pablo Socino

Serupepli Vularika

Manu Vunipola

Richard Wigglesworth

Can’t get to the shops? You can download the digital edition of Rugby World straight to your tablet or subscribe to the print edition to get the magazine delivered to your door.

Follow Rugby World on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.