The British & Irish Lions squad is announced next week – but history has taught us that other players will inevitably come in


The British & Irish Lions will announce their touring squad on Wednesday 19 April. There have been months of speculation and heated debate over what the make-up of the playing group should be, but will it all dry up once the list of names is released? Not likely… If only because recent history has shown us that missing out on the initial squad does not necessarily mean your chances of touring are gone.

We look at the last 12 tours, noting who came in as a tourist after the initial squads were announced. Some of these latecomers had a big impact on the field…

2013 call-ups – Australia

Rory Best (Ire) – replaced Dylan Hartley (Eng) pre-tour
Alex Corbisiero (Eng) – replaced Cian Healy (Ire)
Ryan Grant (Sco) – replaced Gethin Jenkins (Wal)
Tom Court (Ire) – general prop cover
Brad Barritt (Eng) – general backline cover
Billy Twelvetrees (Eng) – general backline cover
Christian Wade (Eng) – general backline cover
Shane Williams (Wal) – general backline cover
Simon Zebo (Ire) – precautionary cover for Tommy Bowe (Ire)

John Hayes

Fronting up: John Hayes and Ross Ford came in to the squad in 2009

2009 – South Africa

Ross Ford (Sco) – replaced Jerry Flannery (Ire) pre-tour
John Hayes (Ire) – replaced Euan Murray (Sco)
Tim Payne (Eng) – replaced Andrew Sheridan (Eng)
Tom Croft (Eng) – replaced Alan Quinlan (Ire) pre-tour
Ryan Jones (Wal) – replaced Stephen Ferris (Ire) but pulled-out shortly after without playing a game
Mike Blair (Sco) – replaced Tomas O’Leary (Ire) pre-tour
James Hook (Wal) – replaced Leigh Halfpenny (Wal) pre-tour
Gordon D’Arcy (Ire) – general backs replacement
Leigh Halfpenny (Wal) – having dropped out of original squad he came back in mid-tour

2005 – New Zealand

Mark Cueto (Eng) – replaced Iain Balshaw (Eng)
Simon Shaw (Eng) – replaced Malcolm O’Kelly (Ire)
Simon Easterby (Ire) – replaced Lawrence Dallaglio (Eng)
Ryan Jones (Wal) – replaced Simon Taylor (Sco)
Brent Cockbain (Wal) – replaced Danny Grewcock (Eng)
Jason White (Sco) – replaced Richard Hill (Eng)

Big impact: Ryan Jones played in all three Tests after a late call in 2005

2001 – Australia

Tyrone Howe (Ire) – replaced Dan Luger (Eng)
Scott Gibbs (Wal) – replaced Mike Catt (Eng)
Andy Nicol (Sco) – replaced Rob Howley (Wal)
Gordon Bulloch (Sco) – replaced Phil Greening (Eng)
Dorian West (Eng) – general injury cover
Martin Corry (Eng) – replaced Simon Taylor (Sco)
David Wallace (Ire) – replaced Lawrence Dallaglio (Eng)

1997 – South Africa

Tony Stanger (Sco) – replaced Ieuan Evans (Wal)
Mike Catt (Eng) – replaced Paul Grayson (Eng)
Kyran Bracken (Eng) – replaced Rob Howley (Wal)
Tony Diprose (Eng) – replaced Scott Quinnell (Wal)
Nigel Redman (Eng) – replaced Doddie Weir (Sco)

1993 – New Zealand

Vince Cunningham (Ire) – replaced Scott Hastings (Sco)
Andy Nicol (Sco) – replaced Robert Jones (Wal)
Richard Wallace (Ire) – replaced Ian Hunter (Eng)
Martin Johnson (Eng) – replaced Wade Dooley (Eng)

Jumping in: Martin Johnson (high right) was a late replacement in 1993

1989 – Australia

Rob Andrew (Eng) – replaced Paul Dean (Ire)
Tony Clement (Wal) – replaced Chris Oti (Eng)

1983 – New Zealand

Nigel Melville (Eng) – replaced Terry Holmes (Wal)
Steve Smith (Eng) – replaced Nigel Melville (Eng)
Eddie Butler (Wal) – replaced Jeff Squire (Wal)
Nick Jeavons (Eng) – cover for John O’Driscoll (Ire)
Donal Lenihan (Ire) – replaced Bob Norster (Wal)
Gerry McLoughlin (Ire) – replaced Ian Stephens (Wal)

1980 – South Africa

Gareth Williams (Wal) – replaced Stuart Lane (Wal)
Tony Ward (Ire) – replaced Gareth Davies (Wal)
Ian Stephens (Wal) – replaced Fran Cotton (Eng)
John Robbie (Ire) – replaced Colin Patterson (Ire)
Phil Orr (Ire) – replaced Phil Blakeway (Eng)
Andy Irvine (Sco) – having dropped out of original squad he replaced Mike Slemen (Eng)
Paul Dodge (Eng) – replaced Dai Richards (Wal)
Steve Smith (Eng) – replaced Terry Holmes (Wal)

In and out: Andy Irvine was out then came in back in 1980

1977 – New Zealand

Moss Keane (Ire) – replaced Geoff Wheel (Wal) pre-tour
Jeff Squire (Wal)– replaced Roger Uttley (Eng) pre-tour
Bill Beaumont (Eng) – replaced Nigel Horton (Eng)
Charlie Faulkner (Wal) – replaced Clive Williams (Wal)
Alun Lewis (Wal) – replaced Brynmor Williams (Wal)

1974 – South Africa

Alan Morley (Eng) – replaced Clive Rees (Wal)
Mike Gibson (Ire) – replaced Alan Old (Eng)

1971 – New Zealand

Chris Rea (Sco) – replaced Chris Wardlow (Eng) pre-tour
Stack Stevens (Eng) – replaced Sandy Carmichael (Sco)
Geoff Evans (Wal) – replaced Ray McLoughlin (Ire)
Rodger Arneil (Sco) – replaced Mike Hipwell (Ire)