Come here for the latest team news and full 33-man squad

Allister Coetze has named his Namibia Rugby World Cup squad to take on Italy in Saturday’s opening game.

Former Australia international Richard Hardwick, who won two caps for the Wallabies, starts at No 8 in an experienced line-up for the African side who are searching for a first ever win at a Rugby World Cup.

Read more: How to watch the Rugby World Cup wherever you are

There are 12 players in the matchday squad from the last World Cup in Japan and even nine who are at their third World Cup having starred in 2015 too.

Namibia team to play Italy

1 Desiderius Sethie
2 Torsten Van Jaarsveld
3 Johan Coetzee
4 Adriaan Ludick
5 Tjiuee Uanivi
6 Wian Conradie
7 Johan Retief
8 Richard Hardwick
9 Damian Stevens
10 Tiaan Swanepoel
11 JC Greyling
12 Danco Burger
13 Johan Deysel (c)
14 Gerswin Mouton
15 Divan Rossouw

16 Louis van der Westhuizen
17 Jason Benade
18 Casper Viviers
19 Tiaan De Klerk
20 Prince Gaoseb
21 Jacques Theron
22 Andre van der Bergh
23 Le Roux Malan

Namibia Rugby World Cup squad 2023

The following Namibia Rugby World Cup squad has been named by head coach Allister Coetzee. For a list of all their fixtures with dates and kick-off times check out our Rugby World Cup fixtures here.

Jason Benade
Aranos Coetzee
Desiderius Sethie
Haitembu Shifika

Casper Viviers

Obert Nortje
Louis van der Westhuizen

Torsten van Jaarsveld

Second row
Tiaan de Klerk
Adriaan Ludick
Mahepisa Tjeriko
Tjiuee Uanivi

PJ van Lill

Flanker / Number 8

Adriaan Booysen
Wian Conradie
Prince Gaoseb
Richard Hardwick
Max Katjijeko
Johan Retief


Oela Blaauw
Helarius Kisting
Damian Stevens

Jacques Theron

Cliven Loubser
Tiaan Swanepoel

Andre van der Berg

Danco Burger
Johan Deysel
Alcino Isaacs

Le Roux Malan

Wing / full back
JC Greyling
Gerswin Mouton
Divan Rossouw

Namibia Rugby World Cup Pool

Namibia have been drawn in Rugby World Cup Pool A alongside New Zealand, France, Italy and Uruguay.

The knockout stages will follow the same format as previous years, with teams from Pools A and B then Pools C and D meeting in the quarter-finals. So Namibia could face Scotland in the last eight, for example.

QF1 – Winner Pool C v Runner-up Pool D
QF2 – Winner Pool B v Runner-up Pool A
QF3 – Winner Pool D v Runner-up Pool C
QF4 – Winner Pool A v Runner-up Pool B

Then the semi-finals will be the Winner of QF1 v Winner QF2 and the Winner QF3 v Winner QF4.

Download the digital edition of Rugby World straight to your tablet or subscribe to the print edition to get the magazine delivered to your door.

Follow Rugby World on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.