Can Ian Foster's team bounce back against the Boks this weekend?

New Zealand Rugby Championship Squad 2022

New Zealand have named their match-day squad for the second game of the 2022 Rugby Championship against South Africa on Saturday.

Ian Foster has made four changes to the starting XV that lost to the Springboks last weekend for the match at Ellis Park in Johannesburg.

There are two new props in the run-on team – Ethan de Groot and Tyrel Lomax are promoted from the bench – while Shannon Frizell replaces Akira Ioane at blindside flanker. Frizell scored the All Blacks’ only try as a replacement last weekend.

The one change in the back-line sees Richie Mo’unga start at fly-half, with Beauden Barrett dropping to the bench.

There is also a potential All Blacks debut for tighthead Fletcher Newell, who is named amongst the replacements.

Despite the criticism Foster and the All Blacks have received recently, the head coach says “belief and confidence remain high in our group”.

New Zealand team to play South Africa – Saturday 13 August

Jordie Barrett; Will Jordan, Rieko Ioane, David Havili, Caleb Clarke; Richie Mo’unga, Aaron Smith; Ethan de Groot, Samison Taukei’aho, Tyrel Lomax, Sam Whitelock, Scott Barrett, Shannon Frizell, Sam Cane (captain), Ardie Savea.

Replacements: Codie Taylor, George Bower, Fletcher Newell, Tupou Vaa’i, Akira Ioane, Finlay Christie, Beauden Barrett, Quinn Tupaea.

New Zealand team to play South Africa – Saturday 6 August

Jordie Barrett; Will Jordan, Rieko Ioane, David Havili, Caleb Clarke; Beauden Barrett, Aaron Smith; George Bower, Samison Taukei’aho, Angus Ta’avao, Sam Whitelock, Scott Barrett, Akira Ioane, Sam Cane (captain), Ardie Savea.

Replacements: Dane Coles, Ethan de Groot, Tyrel Lomax, Tupou Vaa’i, Shannon Frizell, Finlay Christie, Richie Mo’unga, Quinn Tupaea.

New Zealand Rugby Championship Squad 2022

There are minimal surprises in the New Zealand squad for the upcoming Rugby Championship, but there are changes to the coaching team.

The All Blacks were heavily criticised after Ireland’s series win in New Zealand but Ian Foster remains at the helm of the back-room staff and he is sticking with openside Sam Cane as captain.

However, forwards coach John Plumtree and backs coach Brad Mooar have “parted ways” with the All Blacks.

Jason Ryan, the Crusaders and Fiji forwards coach, comes in to look after New Zealand’s pack. Former Ireland coach Joe Schmidt, who has formally started his role as an All Blacks selector, will also take on an analysis position, working with Foster “on overall strategy and attack play”.

Of the coaching changes, Foster said: “Right now, I am really feeling for two fine men who are great rugby coaches that made an enormous contribution to the All Blacks.

“I have no doubt both coaches will go on to great success and I want to thank them for their hard work.

“Jason is a proven performer with plenty of experience at international level. Last year we witnessed first-hand the impact he has made on Fiji’s forwards, adding to his continual growth as the forwards coach of the Crusaders. His appointment now is clearly with an eye to the future and to the RWC 2023.”

The All Blacks start their Rugby Championship campaign with back-to-back Tests in South Africa.

Joe Moody, Anton Lienert-Brown, Ethan Blackadder and Josh Lord are unavailable due to injury, while Braydon Ennor, Tyrel Lomax and the uncapped Josh Dickson will travel with the squad to South Africa due to Angus Ta’avao, Brodie Retallick and Jack Goodhue making their way back from injury or suspension.

Retallick, Goodhue, Nepo Laulala and Ofa Tu’ungafasi will not travel to South Africa, with Fletcher Newell also called up to replace Tu’ungafasi, who sustained a neck injury during the third Test against Ireland.


Scott Barrett (Crusaders)

George Bower (Crusaders)

Sam Cane (Chiefs)

Dane Coles (Hurricanes)

Ethan de Groot (Highlanders)

Shannon Frizell (Highlanders)

Akira Ioane (Blues)

Nepo Laulala (Blues)

Fletcher Newell (Crusaders)

Dalton Papalii (Blues)

Brodie Retallick (Chiefs)

Aidan Ross (Chiefs)

Ardie Savea (Hurricanes)

Hoskins Sotutu (Blues)

Angus Ta’avao (Chiefs)

Samisoni Taukeiaho (Chiefs)

Codie Taylor (Crusaders)

Ofa Tu’ungafasi (Blues)

Patrick Tuipulotu (Blues)

Tupou Vaa’i (Chiefs)

Sam Whitelock (Crusaders)


Beauden Barrett (Blues)

Jordie Barrett (Hurricanes)

Finlay Christie (Blues)

Caleb Clarke (Blues)

Leicester Fainga’anuku (Crusaders)

Folau Fakatava (Highlanders)

Jack Goodhue (Crusaders)

David Havili (Crusaders)

Rieko Ioane (Blues)

Will Jordan (Crusaders)

Richie Mo’unga (Crusaders)

Stephen Perofeta (Blues)

Sevu Reece (Crusaders)

Aaron Smith (Highlanders)

Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Blues)

Quinn Tupaea (Chiefs)

Travelling reserves for South Africa tour

Josh Dickson (Highlanders)

Braydon Ennor (Crusaders)

Tyrel Lomax (Hurricanes)

New Zealand Rugby Championship Fixtures 2022

Sat 6 Aug South Africa 26-10 New Zealand

Sat 13 Aug South Africa v New Zealand (4.05, Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg) Live on Sky Sports

Sat 27 Aug New Zealand v Argentina (8.45am, Orangetheory Stadium, Christchurch) Live on Sky Sports

Sat 3 Sep New Zealand v Argentina (8.05am, FMG Stadium, Hamilton) Live on Sky Sports

Thu 15 Sep Australia v New Zealand (10.45am, Marvel Stadium, Melbourne) Live on Sky Sports

Sat 24 Aug New Zealand v Australia (8.05am, Eden Park, Auckland) Live on Sky Sports

Download the digital edition of Rugby World straight to your tablet or subscribe to the print edition to get the magazine delivered to your door.

Follow Rugby World on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.