All Blacks kick off series with comfortable win at Eden Park

New Zealand Squad for Ireland Series 2022

New Zealand showed their ruthlessness in beating Ireland 42-19 in the opening match of their three-Test series.

An Ardie Savea double coupled with tries from Jordie Barrett, Sevu Reece, Quinn Tupaea and Pita Gus Sowakula ensured the All Blacks took a 1-0 lead in the series.

Ireland had started well, with Keith Earls scoring a try within ten minutes, but a blitz of three tries in ten minutes at the end of the first half put the hosts in control at Eden Park.

The Irish scored tries at the start and end of the second half through Garry Ringrose and Bundee Aki, but the final whistle ultimately brought a comfortable win for the All Blacks.

New Zealand team to play Ireland – Saturday 2 July

Jordie Barrett; Sevu Reece, Rieko Ioane, Quinn Tupaea, Leicester Fainga’anuku; Beauden Barrett, Aaron Smith; George Bower, Codie Taylor, Ofa Tu’ungafasi, Brodie Retallick, Samuel Whitelock, Scott Barrett, Sam Cane (captain), Ardie Savea.

Replacements: Samisoni Taukei’aho, Karl Tu’inukuafe, Angus Ta’avao, Pita Gus Sowakula, Dalton Papalii, Finlay Christie, Richie Mo’unga, Braydon Ennor.

New Zealand Squad for Ireland Series 2022

Ian Foster has included six uncapped players in his 36-man squad for New Zealand’s three-Test series against Ireland in July.

Prop Aidan Ross, back-rower Pita Gus Sowakula, scrum-half Folau Fakatava, fly-half Stephen Perofeta, centre Roger Tuivasa-Sheck and wing Leicester Fainga’anuku are the half-dozen new faces included in the squad.

Sam Cane has been named All Blacks captain for the series, which features Tests in Auckland, Dunedin and Wellington. However, there is no room for experienced half-backs TJ Perenara and Brad Weber or Crusaders wing George Bridge.

Joe Moody, Anton Lienert-Brown and Ethan Blackadder have also been ruled out by injury while Damian McKenzie and Patrick Tuipulotu are currently considered ineligible for selection after stints in Japan.

Foster said: “This will be the biggest home series since the 2017 British & Irish Lions tour for the All Blacks. There are massive expectations all round and it will be immensely competitive.”


Scott Barrett (Crusaders)

George Bower (Crusaders)

Sam Cane (Chiefs)

Dane Coles (Hurricanes)

Akira Ioane (Blues)

Nepo Laulala (Blues)

Josh Lord (Chiefs)

Dalton Papalii (Blues)

Brodie Retallick (Chiefs)

Aidan Ross (Chiefs)

Ardie Savea (Hurricanes)

Hoskins Sotutu (Blues)

Pita Gus Sowakula (Chiefs)

Angus Ta’avao (Chiefs)

Codie Taylor (Crusaders)

Samisoni Taukei’aho (Chiefs)

Karl Tu’inukuafe (Blues)

Tupou Vaa’i (Chiefs)

Ofa Tuungafasi (Blues)

Sam Whitelock (Crusaders)


Beauden Barrett (Blues)

Jordie Barrett (Hurricanes)

Finlay Christie (Blues)

Caleb Clarke (Blues)

Leicester Fainga’anuku (Crusaders)

Folau Fakatava (Highlanders)

Jack Goodhue (Crusaders)

David Havili (Crusaders)

Rieko Ioane (Blues)

Will Jordan (Crusaders)

Richie Mo’unga (Crusaders)

Stephen Perofeta (Blues)

Sevu Reece (Crusaders)

Aaron Smith (Highlanders)

Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Blues)

Quinn Tupaea (Chiefs)

New Zealand Fixtures July 2022

Sat 2 July, New Zealand 42-19 Ireland

Sat 9 July, New Zealand v Ireland (8.05am, Dunedin) Live on Sky Sports

Sat 16 July, New Zealand v Ireland (8.05am, Wellington) Live on Sky Sports

Download the digital edition of Rugby World straight to your tablet or subscribe to the print edition to get the magazine delivered to your door.

Follow Rugby World on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.