A debatable conversion attempt from Melvyn Jaminet left everyone confused

ITV showed viewers what turned out to be the wrong full-time score for France v New Zealand as a controversial conversion attempt kept almost everyone in the dark in a confusing end to the Rugby World Cup opener.

The British broadcaster corrected things after a misunderstanding relating to Melvyn Jaminet’s late conversion following his own 77th-minute try had split opinion about whether it went through or wide of the posts.

Initially rugby fans tuning in at home were under the impression France had beaten the All Blacks 29-13 with Jaminet thought to have successfully converted his own score at the Stade de France in front of a jubilant home crowd on the opening night of the competition.

Read more: Wild Damian Penaud performance epitomises France

However, presenter Mark Pougatch eventually clarified that the game had in fact finished 27-13, after receiving confirmation the conversion was unsuccessful. It was not just on ITV with other broadcasters and even the stadium score reportedly having it wrong. Pougatch highlighted that it was an important differentiation for those filling out their (Rugby World) wallcharts.

The confusion arose after Jaminet had scored late on to seal the victory, the replacement full-back taking full advantage of the bouncing ball to escape the clutches of New Zealand fly-half Richie Mo’unga. Having come on for France’s usual goal-kicker Thomas Ramos, Jaminet lined up the conversion and the ball then looked like it had sailed directly over the post.

Related: Watch Mark Telea score the opening World Cup try in just 90 seconds

There was no unanimous decision immediately on field either as one assistant referee, Karl Dickson, raised his flag, to signal a successful kick, while the other, Christophe Ridley, kept his down, indicating they thought Jaminet had missed.

As it transpired the kick did not count and the winning margin was only 13 points, meaning it was not France’s biggest ever victory margin over the All Blacks. Despite that, it was still a statement victory and Fabien Galthié’s side did make history as the first team to ever inflict a pool-stage defeat on New Zealand.

Read more: France inflict first-ever Rugby World Cup pool-stage defeat on New Zealand

Download the digital edition of Rugby World straight to your tablet or subscribe to the print edition to get the magazine delivered to your door.

Follow Rugby World on FacebookInstagram and Twitter/X.