Commonwealth Games Sevens

The Commonwealth Games first introduced rugby sevens to the programme at the 16th edition, back in 1998, when it was added as a male-only sport for the event in Kuala Lumpur. The first women’s competition was held at the Gold Coast Games in 2018.

Commonwealth Games Sevens

New Zealand women won gold, 2018 (Getty Images)

New Zealand have dominated the men’s tournament since its inception. They have won five of the six men’s events so far, with only South Africa’s gold medal in Glasgow in 2014 interrupting the All Blacks’ stranglehold on the title. The inaugural women’s competition was held in 2018 and had a familiar conclusion, as New Zealand saw off Australia on the Gold Coast, to secure top spot on the podium.

The 2022 edition of the Games is being held in Birmingham, with both the men’s and women’s sevens competitions being staged in Coventry at Wasps’ ground. Keep up with all of the fast-paced action on – and why not tell us what you think of the event, teams, and superstars via or via our social media channels.

Follow Rugby World on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Jonah Lomu against Fiji in the Commonwealth Games

Jonah Lomu at the Commonwealth Games For a sport seeking to demonstrate what it could bring to the Commonwealth Games, Jonah Lomu was the ideal figurehead. The New Zealand winger…