Take a look at Gregor Townsend's Autumn Internationals squad here.

Scotland Autumn Internationals Squad

Gregor Townsend has made six changes to the side that destroyed Fiji last week.

Huw Jones returns to the starting line-up as does Gordon Reid, Stuart McInally, Ben Toolis, Jonny Gray, and Hamish Watson. Jamie Ritchie drops to the bench and Sam Skinner shifts from the second-row to blind-side flanker.

Townsend expects a tough test from the Springboks due to their significant improvements over the past few months;

“We expect them to be confrontational and powerful in their ball carrying, their defence and also at set-piece time,” Townsend said.

“What we’ve seen over the past few months is an ambition to move the ball from counter-attack and a push to get their forwards passing the ball more.”

Scotland team to face South Africa in the Autumn Internationals – 17th November

Stuart Hogg; Tommy Seymour, Huw Jones, Pete Horne, Sean Maitland, Finn Russell, Greig Laidlaw; Gordon Reid, Stuart McInally, Willem Nel, Ben Toolis, Jonny Gray, Sam Skinner, Hamish Watson, Ryan Wilson.

Replacements: Fraser Brown, Allan Dell, Simon Berghan, Josh Strauss, Jamie Ritchie, Ali Price, Adam Hastings, Chris Harris.

Scotland team to face Fiji in the Autumn Internationals – 10th November 

Stuart Hogg; Tommy Seymour, Alex Dunbar, Peter Horne, Sean Maitland, Finn Russell, Greig Laidlaw; Allan Dell, Fraser Brown, Willem Nel, Sam Skinner, Grant Gilchrist, Ryan Wilson, Jamie Ritchie, Matt Fagerson

Replacements: Stuart McInally, Alex Allan, Simon Berghan, Jonny Gray, Josh Strauss, George Horne, Adam Hastings, Chris Harris.

Scotland team to face Wales in the Doddie Weir Cup – 3rd November

Dell, McInally (captain), Nel, Toolis, Gray, Ritchie, Wilson, Watson, Price, Hastings, Dunbar, H.Jones, L.Jones, Kinghorn, Seymour

Replacements: Brown, Berghan, Fagerson, P.Horne, Allan, Gilchrist, G.Horne, Graham

Gregor Townsend’s Scotland will be missing Stuart Hogg, Zander Fagerson, John Barclay and Richie Gray for their upcoming Autumn International matches against Wales, Fiji, Argentina and South Africa later this year.

As a result three uncapped players have been named in the 40-man squad with Blade Thomson, Sam Johnson and England U20 representative, Sam Skinner all coming in.

Born in Australia, Johnson qualifies due to residency, and New Zealand-born Thomson qualifies through a grandfather. However Thomson and Skinner, along with other players based in England, Wales and France, will have to ask their clubs for permission to play against Wales in Cardiff because the match falls outside the Test window.

Alex Dunbar, Jonny Gray, Huw Jones, Greig Laidlaw, Sean Maitland, Willem Nel, Gordon Reid, Finn Russell, Tommy Seymour, Ryan Wilson and Hamish Watson all return to the squad after rest or injury absences.

Townsend said; “We’ve named a 40-man group for this campaign, which highlights the quality of player that is now available to us and the competition for places.”

“It also enables us to welcome more players into our training environment and hopefully give a few more players a taste of Test match rugby.

“It’s going to be an exciting year for the squad, but our primary focus is fixed on performing well against Wales – familiar opponents who have already recorded a win against us this year.”

Interestingly, Townsend has also asked Luke Crosby and Darcy Graham to train with the squad.

Scotland Autumn Internationals Squad


Alex Allan (Glasgow Warriors), Simon Berghan (Edinburgh), Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh), Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors), Allan Dell (Edinburgh), David Denton (Leicester Tigers), Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Ross Ford (Edinburgh), Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh), Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors), Rob Harley (Glasgow Warriors), Murray McCallum (Edinburgh), Stuart McInally (Edinburgh), Willem Nel (Edinburgh), Gordon Reid (London Irish), Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh), Sam Skinner (Exeter Chiefs), Blade Thomson (Scarlets), Ben Toolis (Edinburgh), George Turner (Glasgow Warriors), Hamish Watson (Edinburgh), Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors)


Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors), Dougie Fife (Edinburgh), Chris Harris (Newcastle Falcons), Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors), George Horne (Glasgow Warriors), Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors), Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors), Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors), Lee Jones (Glasgow Warriors), Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh), Greig Laidlaw (Clermont Auvergne), Sean Maitland (Saracens), Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks), Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors), Henry Pyrgos (Edinburgh), Finn Russell (Racing 92), Matt Scott (Edinburgh), Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors)

Don’t forget to follow Rugby World on Facebook and Twitter for all the latest news in the world of rugby.