Namibia booked their place once again at the World Cup, but are still awaiting a win


Namibia Rugby World Cup Fixtures, Squad, Group, Guide

Winning just one of their four Rugby World Cup pool games would trigger scenes of celebration in Windhoek. However, Typhoon Hagibis denied them their best chance with the final pool match against Canada cancelled on safety grounds.

How They Qualified

Namibia qualified for the 2019 World Cup by winning the Rugby Africa Gold Cup.

Key Players

With Jacques Burger now retired, there are no household names in the squad. Sharks centre Johan Deysel is captain while lock Tjiuee Uanivi shone at RWC 2015, even stealing two All Blacks lineouts.

Leader: Johan Deysel introduces his team to the president of the Confederation of Africa Rugby Abdelaziz Bougja (Getty Images)

The Coach – Phil Davies

The former Wales forward took charge three years ago and has maintained Namibia’s dominance of the Africa Gold Cup. He does a bit of consultancy on the side, most recently at Nuneaton.

Tough Group: Davies is coaching Namibia side at the World Cup (Getty Images)

Major Work-ons

The scrum has been an Achilles’ heel against top nations. Higher-calibre fixtures would help development and pulling out of the Currie Cup, for financial reasons, was a setback.

Namibia Rugby World Cup Warm-ups

  • Saturday 24 August: Sharks Invitation XV 0-43 Namibia
  • Saturday 31 August: Namibia 28-22 Southern Kings
  • Saturday 7 September: Namibia 21-17 Southern Kings

Related: 2019 Rugby World Cup Warm-ups

Namibia Rugby World Cup Group

Namibia are in Group B alongside New Zealand, South Africa, Italy and Canada.

Related: 2019 Rugby World Cup Groups

Namibia Rugby World Cup Fixtures


Outclassed: Namibia last played New Zealand in 2015, and lost 58-14 (Getty Images)

Namibia Rugby World Cup Squad

Namibia have named their squad for the tournament below;

Forwards (18):
Andre Rademeyer
Nelius Theron
Desiderius Sethie
A J de Klerk
Johannes Coetzee
Obert Nortje
Louis van der Westhuizen
Torsten van Jaarsveld
Tjiuee Uanivi
Johan Retief
Thomasau Forbes
Rohan Kitshoff
Max Katjijeko
Prince Gaoseb
Wian Conradie
P J van Lill
Adriaan Booysen
Janco Venter.

Backs (13):
Cliven Loubser
Helarius Kisting
Damian Stevens
Eugene Jantjies
Darryl de la Harpe
Johan Deysel
Justin Newman
J C Greyling
Johann Tromp
Chad Plato
Lesley Klim
Janry du Toit
P J Walters.

Related: 2019 Rugby World Cup Fixtures

Previous World Cup Results and Record

Namibia’s Rugby World Cup Record: P23 W0 D1 L22

  • 1999 Pool stages
  • 2003 Pool stages
  • 2007 Pool stages
  • 2011 Pool stages
  • 2015 Pool stages
  • 2019 Pool stages

Follow our Rugby World Cup homepage which we update regularly with news and features.

Also make sure you know about the GroupsWarm-upsDatesFixturesVenuesTV CoverageQualified Teams by clicking on the highlighted links.

Finally, don’t forget to follow Rugby World on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.