The last team to qualify for the tournament, Canada had to go through the repechage tournament to book their place in Japan


Canada Rugby World Cup Fixtures, Squad, Group, Guide

The very last team to make it into the 2019 Rugby World Cup, Canada have managed to continue their record of making every edition of the tournament. They lost all four matches in 2015 and this time lost their opening three pool games before their final match against Namibia was cancelled due to Typhoon Hagibis.

How They Qualified

Canada secured their spot in the World Cup by winning the repechage tournament over Hong Kong, Kenya and Germany.

Key Players

There are some experienced players in the ranks of the current Canadian squad. From a forwards standpoint, Waikato Chief Tyler Ardron is arguably the most talented of the bunch, whereas in the back-line Glasgow Warrior DTH Van der Merwe is a threat.

Warrior: DTH Van Der Merwe plies his trade for Glasgow (Getty Images)

The Coach – Kingsley Jones

Former Wales flanker Jones took over from Mark Anscombe in 2017 and has had a less than ideal reign so far. He has also coached Russia, Sale and Newport Gwent Dragons.

Major Work-ons

The defensive efforts required against the likes of New Zealand and South Africa are likely to sap them of energy and lead to them falling apart later in games.

Canada Rugby World Cup Warm-ups

  • Saturday 27 July 2019: USA 47-19 Canada
  • Saturday 3 August 2019: Fiji 38-13 Canada
  • Friday 9 August 2019: Tonga 33-23 Canada
  • Saturday 24 August 2019: Canada 35-38 Leinster
  • Friday 30 August: Canada 45-13 BC All-Stars
  • Saturday 7 September: Canada 15-20 USA

Related: 2019 Rugby World Cup Warm-ups

Canada Rugby World Cup Group

Canada are in Group B alongside New Zealand, South Africa, Italy, and Namibia.

Related: 2019 Rugby World Cup Groups

Canada Rugby World Cup Kit

Canada Rugby World Cup Fixtures


Deja Vu: Canada, playing in 2015 against Italy, will once again face them at the 2019 World Cup (Getty Images)

Canada Rugby World Cup Squad

Kingsley Jones has named his final 31-man squad;

Forwards (17):
Tyler Ardron
Kyle Baillie
Josh Larsen
Hubert Buydens
Luke Campbell
Matt Heaton
Eric Howard
Jake Ilnicki
Cole Keith
Conor Keys
Evan Olmstead
Benoit Piffero
Andrew Quattrin
Lucas Rumball
Djustice Sears-Duru
Mike Sheppard
Matthew Tierney

Backs (14):
Nick Blevins (replaced by Guiseppe Du Toit)
Andrew Coe
Jeff Hassler
Ciaran Hearn
Ben LeSage (replaced by Theo Sauder)
Phil Mack
Jamie Mackenzie
Gordon McRorie
Peter Nelson
Shane O’Leary
Patrick Parfrey
Taylor Paris
Conor Trainor
DTH van der Merwe.

Related: 2019 Rugby World Cup Fixtures

Previous World Cup Results and Record

Canada’s Rugby World Cup Record: P33 W7 D3 L23

  • 1987 Pool stages
  • 1991 Quarter-finals
  • 1995 Pool stages
  • 1999 Pool stages
  • 2003 Pool stages
  • 2007 Pool stages
  • 2011 Pool stages
  • 2015 Pool stages
  • 2019 Pool stages

Follow our Rugby World Cup homepage which we update regularly with news and features.

Also make sure you know about the GroupsWarm-upsDatesFixturesVenuesTV CoverageQualified Teams by clicking on the highlighted links.

Finally, don’t forget to follow Rugby World on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.