Winners of the past two World Cups, the All Blacks saw themselves knocked out in the semis.

New Zealand Rugby World Cup Fixtures, Squad, Group, Guide

Winners of the last two Rugby World Cups, the All Blacks were favourites to win it all but lost to England in the semi-finals. They now face Wales in the third place playoff.

How They Qualified

Winners of the last tournament held in England back in 2015.

Key Players

Where to start? Beauden Barrett and Ben Smith in the back-line, and Kieran Read and Brodie Retallick up front, are just four supremely gifted players at their disposal.

World Beater: Barrett is arguably the best number 10 in the world (Getty Images)

The Coach – Steve Hansen

He once dreamt of being a jockey but is now riding high in his 17th year of Test coaching, with a 90% win ratio and four World Rugby Coach of the Year gongs in his pocket. The winning coach in 2015.

At the helm: All Blacks head coach Steve Hansen (Getty Images)

Major Work-ons

They have looked vulnerable in games and have lost to South Africa, Ireland and Australia over the past year or so. They also lack a deadeye goalkicker. But really we’re clutching at straws here because they ooze class all over the field and can play in wet or dry.

New Zealand Rugby World Cup Warm-ups

  • Saturday 20 July 2019: Argentina  16-20 New Zealand
  • Saturday 27 July 2019: New Zealand 16-16 South Africa
  • Saturday 10 August 2019: Australia 47-26 New Zealand
  • Saturday 17 August 2019: New Zealand 36-0 Australia
  • Saturday 7 September 2019: New Zealand 92-7 Tonga

Related: 2019 Rugby World Cup Warm-ups

New Zealand Rugby World Cup Group

New Zealand are in Group B alongside South Africa, Italy, Namibia and Canada.

Related: 2019 Rugby World Cup Groups

New Zealand Rugby World Cup Kit

New Zealand Rugby World Cup Fixtures

Rivals: The All Blacks have South Africa in their group (Getty Images)

New Zealand Rugby World Cup Squad

Steve Hansen has named his Rugby World Cup squad as you can see below;

Forwards (17):

Dane Coles
Liam Coltman
Codie Taylor
Nepo Laulala
Joe Moody
Atu Moli
Angus Ta’avao
Ofa Tuungafasi
Scott Barrett
Brodie Retallick
Patrick Tuipulotu
Samuel Whitelock
Sam Cane
Luke Jacobson (replaced by Shannon Frizell on 13 September after suffering a delayed onset of concussion)
Kieran Read
Ardie Savea
Matt Todd

Backs (14):

TJ Perenara
Aaron Smith
Brad Weber
Beauden Barrett
Richie Mo’unga
Ryan Crotty
Jack Goodhue
Anton Lienert-Brown
Sonny Bill Williams
Jordie Barrett
George Bridge
Rieko Ioane
Sevu Reece
Ben Smith

Related: 2019 Rugby World Cup Fixtures

Previous World Cup Results and Record

New Zealand’s Rugby World Cup Record: P50 W44 D0 L6

  • 1987 Champions
  • 1991 Third
  • 1995 Runners-up
  • 1999 Fourth
  • 2003 Third
  • 2007 Quarter-finals
  • 2011 Champions
  • 2015 Champions

Follow our Rugby World Cup homepage which we update regularly with news and features.

Also make sure you know about the GroupsWarm-upsDatesFixturesVenuesTV CoverageQualified Teams by clicking on the highlighted links.

Finally, don’t forget to follow Rugby World on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.