See which teams have qualified for the 2019 Rugby World Cup in this piece.

2019 Rugby World Cup Qualified Teams

How did each team qualify for the 2019 Rugby World Cup? As of November 2018 the 20 positions for the tournament had been filled in a variety of ways across the globe.

Below we have taken a look at how each of the teams have qualified for the tournament. (Qualified teams are in bold).

2019 Rugby World Cup Qualified Teams

There were 12 automatic qualifiers for the tournament on the basis that they came in the top three in their respective pools during the 2015 tournament held in England. These 12 teams were: New ZealandAustralia, South Africa, Argentina, Wales, Scotland, Ireland, France, England, Georgia, Japan and Italy.

Russia qualified as the highest ranked European side in the Rugby Europe Championship (excluding Georgia who qualified automatically). There was considerable controversy here as Romania, Spain and Belgium were sanctioned after fielding ineligible players.

Related: Russia Qualify For 2019 Tournament 

Fiji and Tonga qualified as the top two finishers in the Pacific Nations Cup.

Samoa, who came bottom in the Pacific Nations Cup, booked their place after defeating Germany in a play-off. (Germany dropped into the Repechage tournament).

The USA beat Canada in a two-match play-off to ensure their qualification.

Uruguay, the top ranked South American side excluding Argentina, then also beat Canada on aggregate in a two-match play-off. (Canada dropped into the Repechage tournament).

Namibia won the Rugby Africa Championship in dominant fashion to book their place.

The final spot goes to the winner of the Repechage tournament; Canada.

Follow our Rugby World Cup homepage which we update regularly with news and features.

Also make sure you know about the GroupsWarm-upsDatesFixturesVenuesTV CoverageQualified Teams by clicking on the highlighted links.

Finally, don’t forget to follow Rugby World on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.