Stay up to date with the try scorer standings for the 2019 Rugby World Cup here.

Who Will Be Top Try Scorer At The Rugby World Cup?

The 2019 Rugby World Cup is in full swing and still only in the group stages, but already we have seen a boatload of tries. And you will be surprised to see that hookers are leading the charge in the try charts at the moment. However, with the rising trend of tries from kicks in this competition, expect the wings to start roaring up the try-scoring table as the competition progresses.

So bearing this in mind, this piece will provide the updated standings to make sure you know who sits atop the leaderboard.

Updated Standings 

7 – Josh Adams (Wales)

5 –  Kotaro Matsushima (Japan), Makazole Mapimpi (South Africa)

4 – Julian Montoya (Argentina), Kenki Fukuoka (Japan)

3 – Bongi Mbonambi, Cobus Reinach (both South Africa), Dane Haylett Petty, Marika Koroibete (both Australia), George Horne (Scotland), Andrew Conway (Ireland), Telusa Veainiu (Tonga), Luke Cowan-Dickie, Jonny May, Manu Tuilagi (all England), Jordie Barrett (New Zealand),

2 – Brad Weber, Sevu Reece, Anton Lienert-Brown, Scott Barrett, Ben Smith (all New Zealand), Cheslin Kolbe, Lukhanyo Am (both South Africa), Api Ratuniyarawa, Nikola Matawalu, Semi Radradra (all Fiji), Garry Ringrose, Rob Kearney (all Ireland), Tolu Latu, Tevita Kuridrani, Michael Hooper (all Australia), Joe Cokanasiga, George Ford (both England), Ed Fidow, Alapati Leiua (both Samoa), Matteo Minozzi, Mattia Bellini (both Italy), Levan Chilachava (Georgia), Manuel Diana (Uruguay), Gael Fickou, Alivereti Raka (both France), Scott Hastings (Scotland), Alexander Todua (Georgia), Blaine Scully (USA)

There are a whole plethora of names who have scored one try during the tournament so far. Instead of naming them all we have just provided the top dogs above.

Previous Top Try Scorers At The Rugby World Cup

1987 – Craig Green and John Kirwan (New Zealand) – 6 tries

1991 – Jean Baptiste Lafond (France) and David Campese (Australia) – 6 tries

1995 – Jonah Lomu and Marc Ellis (New Zealand) – 7 tries

1999 – Jonah Lomu (New Zealand) – 8 tries

2003 – Doug Howlett and Mils Muliana (New Zealand) – 7 tries

2007 – Bryan Habana (South Africa) – 8 tries

2011 – Chris Ashton (England) and Vincent Clerc (France) – 6 tries

2015 – Julian Savea (New Zealand) – 8 tries

Follow our Rugby World Cup homepage which we update regularly with news and features.

Also make sure you know about the GroupsDatesFixturesVenuesTV Coverage, Warm-upsQualified Teams by clicking on the highlighted links.

Finally, don’t forget to follow Rugby World on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.