Los Pumas failed to make it to the knockout stages for the first time since 2003

Argentina Rugby World Cup Fixtures, Squad, Group, Guide

Los Pumas failed to make it to the knockout stages of the World Cup for the first time since 2003 after losing to both France and England.

How They Qualified

Argentina qualified automatically for the 2019 tournament.

Key Players

Hooker Agustín Creevy has long been the heartbeat of the team while Pablo Matera now combines a strong carrying game with abrasiveness in the tight exchanges. Emiliano Boffelli is a threat with ball in hand and is accurate from distance off the kicking tee too.

Premier: Creevy is one of the top hookers in the world (Getty Images)

The Coach – Mario Ledesma

A giant of Argentinian rugby who played in four World Cups. The former hooker replaced Daniel Hourcade, who quit last June after a defeat by Scotland left his side with two wins in 18 games.

Legend: Head coach Ledesma played 84 times for Argentina (Getty Images)

Major Work-ons

Squad depth. They have quality across the pitch but ultimately cannot call upon as many world-class players as other teams in the competition. Plus, they appear to have moved away from their traditional strengths at the set-piece, with their scrum coming under pressure.

Argentina Rugby World Cup Warm-ups

  • Saturday 20 July 2019: Argentina 16-20 New Zealand
  • Saturday 27 July 2019: Australia 16-10 Argentina
  • Saturday 10 August 2019: Argentina 13-46 South Africa
  • Saturday 17 August 2019: South Africa 24-18 Argentina
  • Saturday 7 September: Randwick 0-74 Argentina

Related: 2019 Rugby World Cup Warm-ups

Argentina Rugby World Cup Group

Argentina are in Group C with England, France, USA and Tonga.

Related: 2019 Rugby World Cup Groups

Argentina Rugby World Cup Kit

Argentina Rugby World Cup Fixtures

Bronze: Argentina last played France in the third-place playoff in 2007, which the Pumas won (Getty Images)

Argentina Rugby World Cup Squad

Forwards (17):
Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro
Mayco Vivas
Agustín Creevy
Julián Montoya
Santiago Socino
Juan Figallo
Enrique Pieretto
Santiago Medrano
Guido Petti
Tomás Lavanini
Matías Alemanno
Pablo Matera
Tomás Lezana
Javier Ortega Desio
Marcos Kremer
Rodrigo Bruni
Juan Manuel Leguizamón

Backs (14):
Tomás Cubelli
Felipe Ezcurra
Nicolás Sanchez
Benjamin Urdapilleta
Jerónimo de la Fuente
Matías Orlando
Matías Moroni
Lucas Mensa
Juan Cruz Mallía
Ramiro Moyano
Bautista Delguy
Emiliano Boffelli
Joaquín Tuculet
Santiago Carreras.

Related: 2019 Rugby World Cup Fixtures

Previous World Cup Results and Record

Argentina’s Rugby World Cup Record: P41 W21 D0 L20

  • 1987 Pool stages
  • 1991 Pool stages
  • 1995 Pool stages
  • 1999 Quarter-final
  • 2003 Pool stages
  • 2007 Third
  • 2011 Quarter-final
  • 2015 Fourth
  • 2019 Pool stages

Follow our Rugby World Cup homepage which we update regularly with news and features.

Also make sure you know about the GroupsWarm-upsDatesFixturesVenuesTV CoverageQualified Teams by clicking on the highlighted links.

Finally, don’t forget to follow Rugby World on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.